Connect with us


2017 SEC/Big 12 Challenge Television Schedule Set

Birmingham, Ala. – ESPN announced the television network designations and start times for the fourth annual Big 12/SEC Challenge Presented by Sonic on Monday.Seven of the 10 games will be televised on ESPN or ESPN2 and three games will air on ESPNU. All 10 games will also be available via WatchESPN.

ESPN’s College GameDay Covered by State Farm – the Saturday roadshow that discusses the top storylines of the college basketball season – will originate from one of the Challenge games.

All 10 of the Big 12’s teams and 10 of the SEC’s 14 member institutions will participate in this year’s event. Each of the 10 SEC teams that participated in the 2016 Challenge are playing in the 2017 event.

Twelve participating teams earned postseason berths in 2016 and seven of the 10 games will feature at least one team that participated in the 2016 NCAA Tournament.

This will be the second year that a bye in the league schedule for participating teams was created to accommodate the single-day format. The four SEC teams not participating will play each other in conference games the same day. The first two years of the challenge were played over several days in November and December but the 2017 event will be consolidated to one single day in January.

 2017 SEC/Big 12 Challenge Presented by Sonic (January 28, 2017):

ESPN, 12p ET, Texas A&M at West Virginia

ESPN, 2p ET, Florida at Oklahoma

ESPN2, 2p ET, Kansas State at Tennessee

ESPNU, 2p ET, LSU at Texas Tech

ESPN, 4p ET, Texas at Georgia

ESPN2, 4p ET, Iowa State at Vanderbilt

ESPNU, 4p ET, Arkansas at Oklahoma State

ESPN, 6p ET, Kansas at Kentucky

ESPN2, 6p ET, Baylor at Ole Miss

ESPNU, 6p ET, Auburn at TCU

Sponsored By

More in Basketball