Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Bell Dusts the Field at Thunder Valley

Credit: BRISTOL, TENNESSEE - APRIL 09: Christopher Bell, driver of the #20 DeWalt Power Stack Toyota, and crew chief Adam Stevens celebrate in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Cup Series Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on April 09, 2023 in Bristol, Tennessee. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

BRISTOL – April 9, 2023 – Anthony Holbrook

The NASCAR Cup Series traveled to Thunder Valley for the Third Annual Food City Dirt Race hosted by Bristol Motor Speedway. This event will be the 7 th points scheduled race of the 2023 NASCAR Cup Season.

The dirt surface/compound provided less traction than a traditional concrete or asphalt trackand presented different challenges in terms of managing the tires. Tire tread display a block pattern to present a tighter traction for racing.

All eyes were set on 2021 First Annual Dirt Cup Race Winner Joey Logano and expectation of a 2nd sword of the weekend festivities following up a stellar performance in the Craftsman Dirt race, Saturday night.

As the Heat Races set the starting lineup Kyle Larson and Austin Dillion occupy the front row and will roll lead the field to green.

Bristol Speedway will utilize an Ariel Drone cantilever sign to hoover over a specific track area to assist drivers declaring their lane selection.

Food City Dirt Race – Recap:

Stage 1

Kyle Larson continue to highlight his dirt track experience guiding the path.

Caution flags are introduced early in Stage1 as drivers attempt to follow the tracks of the previous Cup race winner Larson.

Notable drivers Joey Logano, Erik Jones, Corey Lajoie, Denny Hamlin traction issues hamper any positive Stage 1 finish.

Kyle Larson wins his 2nd Stage of the 2023 Nascar Cup Series Campaign.

Food City Dirt Race – Results

Stage 1

1. Kyle Larson

2. Austin Dillon

3. Kyle Busch

4. Ryan Preece

5. Ryan Blaney

6. Christopher Bell

7. Chase Briscoe

8. Tyler Reddick

9. Justin Haley

10. William Byron

Food City Dirt Race – Recap:

Stage 2

Drivers continue to lose control almost effortless as teams are collected by cars of less traction. Brad Keselowski and Erik Jones among the hopeful drivers who encounters handling issues only to invite a Stage of caution flags.

Tyler Reddick threads the needle, muscling past Austin Dillion and 2022 Cup Dirt Race winner Kyle Bush to regain the lead as 15 laps remain. Tyler Reddick sets his marks for other contenders to match in route to claim Stage 2 honors. 

Food City Dirt Race – Results

Stage 2

1. Tyler Reddick

2. Austin Dillon

3. Kyle Larson

4. Christopher Bell

5. Kyle Busch

6. Chase Briscoe

7. Martin Truex Jr

8. Ryan Blaney

9. Justin Haley

10. Aric Almirola

Food City Dirt Race – Results

Final Stage

Christopher Bell along with Dirt-Ringers’ Chase Briscoe and Tyler Redick ride the rim, leading the field as 33 circuits remain.

Favoring a hand injury, Chase Briscoe relinquishes his runner up spot to an aggressive Tyler Reddick.

Christopher Bell opens up a comfortable lead as laps begin to dwindling down. Tyler Reddick pulls within a car-length of Bell in attempt to challenge for the win.

Unfortunately, Tyler Reddick’s quest for Checkers runs out of time and real-estate. 

Christopher Bell emerges to win his first Bristol Cup Dirt Race while a melee of crashes behind the leaders shake up the finishing order after the Tennessee Dust settles.

Food City Dirt Race – Results

Final Stage (starting position in parentheses)

1. Christopher Bell

2. Tyler Reddick

3. Austin Dillon

4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

5. Chase Briscoe

6. Justin Haley

7. Martin Truex Jr

8. Todd Gilliland

9. Kevin Harvick

10. Michael McDowell

11. Ty Gibbs

12. Bubba Wallace

13. William Byron

14. Erik Jones

15. Harrison Burton

16. AJ Allmendinger

17. Brad Keselowski

18. Chris Buescher

19. Austin Cindric

20. JJ Yeley

21. Ty Dillon

22. Denny Hamlin

23. Ryan Blaney

24. Ryan Preece

25. Daniel Suarez

26. BJ McLeod

27. Josh Berry

28. Ross Chastain

29. Alex Bowman

30. Corey LaJoie

31. Aric Almirola

32. Kyle Busch

33. Noah Gragson

34. Matt Crafton

35. Kyle Larson

36. Jonathan Davenport

37. Joey Logano

NASCAR Cup Series Teams continues the short track swing finishing up at the Paperclip for the NOCO 400 hosted by Martinsville Speedway.

Sunday    April 16, 2023

3:00 p.m. EST    

FS1     MRN/Siris XM Radio 90

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series