Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Bell Gets to Champ 4 with Win at the Clip

CHristopher Bell - Martinsville
Christopher Bell - Stacy Revere - Getty Images

Christopher Bell checks off his second Playoff win at Martinsville Speedway while Ross Chastain sets the Championship 4 grid.


The NASCAR Cup Series Road to the Championship 4 finished Sunday afternoon at Martinsville Speedway in the Xfinity 500.  Four of the eight contenders at the gree flap advanced to the weekend with a shot at the Cup Series title in Phoenix Raceway. A victory at the Paperclip by any playoff driver would clinch a spot in the Championship 4, regardless of points.

Xfinity 500 Stage 1 – Recap:

Laps: 130 (1-130 / 500)

Kyle Larson turned a 19.7 sec qualifying lap leading all competitors bringing the field to green.

Kyle Larson lost grip in bottom lane into turn one allowing teammate Chase Elliott to overtake Kyle Larson on the inside lane on Lap 69.

Christopher Bell enters into the picture of the leader’s rear view mirror, and moved up the leader board from 20th to 10th by lap 100.

12 to go in stage one, Elliott bobbles and misses the bottom. Hamlin gives Elliott a bumper horn which moves the stability of the Elliott’s car up the track, Hamlin takes advantage of lane change and shapshoots past Elliott’s Hendrick’s Chevrolet to lead the pack

Denny Hamlin collects valuable Stage 1 points at the paperclip..

Xfinity 500 Stage 1 – Results:

1. Denny Hamlin

2. Chase Elliott

3. Cole Custer

4. Kyle Larson

5. Chase Briscoe

6. Brad Keselowski

7. Christopher Bell

8. Ryan Blaney

9. Ross Chastain

10. Daniel Suarez

Xfinity 500 Stage 2  –  Recap:

Laps: 130 (131-260 / 500)

Denny Hamlin clears Chase Elliott for Stage 2 restart, holding on to the post position.

Driving a consistent line enabled Denny Hamlin to separate himself from the any close competitor by a mere 6 second’s margin.

Denny Hamlin racks up Stage 2 win at Martinsville.

Xfinity 500 Stage 2 – Results:

1. Denny Hamlin

2. Chase Elliott

3. Kyle Larson

4. Cole Custer

5. Christopher Bell

6. Ryan Blaney

7. Brad Keselowski

8. Joey Logano

9. Ross Chastain

10. Daniel Suarez

Xfinity 500 Final Stage – Recap:

Laps: 240 (261-500 / 500)

Christopher Bell leads as Elliott battles Ryan Blaney for 2nd opening up the decisive Stage 3 restart.

Denny Hamlin and Ross Chastain found themselves in a battle for the 4th and final transfer spot into the Championship 4 finale.

RCR Driver Austin Dillon autographs the outside barrier wall on Lap 320. The Caution is waved , thereof  many contenders opt for fresher tires.

Unfortunately, Denny Hamlin suffers pit issues and shuffled back in pack while Christopher Bell wins the race to the pit exit.

Counting 21 laps remaining Denny Hamlin bumps Ross Chastain out of his preferred line, adding position points necessary to be eligible for the Championship 4. 

Both Ross Chastain and Denny Hamlin battle for final Championship 4 bid as  Denny Hamlin moves forward.

However, on the final lap, Chastain holding 10th position and needing to accumulate position points to dance in Phoenix Championship Race.

Ross Chastain mystified the fans grabbing 5th gear elevating  his car and chances of victory riding the safer barrier wall.

Ross Chastain accelerated from 10th to 5th overtaking Denny Hamlin at the line for a Championship 4 Bid.

Christopher Bell wins at Martinsville.

Ross Chastain turned a final official final lap time at 8.845 seconds, surpassing Joey Logano’s track fastest lap in 2014.

Xfinity 500 Final Results:

1. Christopher Bell
2. Kyle Larson
3. Ryan Blaney
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Ross Chastain
6. Denny Hamlin
7. Joey Logano
8. William Byron
9. Bubba Wallace
10. Chase Briscoe
11. Chase Elliott
12. Harrison Burton
13. Daniel Suarez
14. Todd Gilliland
15. Cole Custer
16. Aric Almirola
17. Kevin Harvick
18. Michael McDowell
19. Erik Jones
20. Ty Gibbs
21. Martin Truex Jr
22. Corey LaJoie
23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
24. AJ Allmendinger
25. Chris Buescher
26. Noah Gragson
27. Austin Cindric
28. Justin Haley
29. Cody Ware
30. Kyle Busch
31. JJ Yeley
32. Ty Dillon
33. Landon Cassill
34. Austin Dillon
35. BJ McLeod
36. Tyler Reddick

2022 NASCAR Cup Series Championship 4

1. Joey Logano
     1 Win (In Round)

2. Christopher Bell
     1 Win (In Round)

3. Chase Elliott

4. Ross Chastain

— Eliminated from Championship Race —

5. Denny Hamlin

6.William Byron

7.Ryan Blaney

8. Chase Briscoe

The NASCAR Cup Playoff Championship 4 concludes:

Sunday. Nov 6, 2022  3:00 PM ET



Avondale, Arizona

312 laps/ 312 Miles



SirisXM Nascar 90

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series