Connect with us


Busch Best in Cali

Kyle Busch - photo LAT Imagees

Bush wins 200th in Career

Fontana, Califonia – March 17, 2019, Anthony Holbrook – Bluegrass Sports Nation

2015 NASCAR Champion Kyle Bush wins the 2019 Auto Club 400, sweeping each stage in a dominant performance and clinching his historic 200th (Cup/Xfinity/Truck) Series career win.

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race #5 shifts gears to the Auto Club Speedway, (formally California Speedway) Sunday, March 17, 20019  for the Auto Club 400.  The 2.0 mile, D-shaped oval, offers 14 degree banking each of the four turns with 11 and 3 degree banking for the front and backstretch respectfully.  Though NASCAR events utilize the 2.0 tri-oval; the facility additionally features a drag strip track as well as an infield road course, allowing the track to host multiple racing venues.

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series officials will continue to enforce the 2019 Rules Package fitted for tracks larger than 1.33 miles.  This package will includes a .922-inch Tapered Spacer, A Larger Rear Spoiler and Aero Ducts. The combination of the supplemented package additions anticipate reduction of horsepower from 750 hp. to 550 hp., promoting tighter racing.   Martin Truex Jr. won checkers with a dominating performance last year at Fontana and will defend his 2018 Auto Club 400 title on this final leg of the West Coast Swing.

Austin Dillion driver of the Hendrick Motorsports #3 Camaro won Pole, with a qualifying time of 180.81 and will bring the field to green.  Stewart-Haas Racing #4 Mustang driver Kevin Harvick qualifying -0.155 sec. behind the pole sitter, secured second position.  

Stage 1 displayed 4 lead changes in the first 20 laps and Kyle Bush #18 Toyota controlling the point.  With four laps to go in Stage 1, Austin Dillion’s cut tire, brought out a caution.   After majority of the contenders pitting, Kyle Bush assumed the lead and won Stage 1

Auto Club 400 Stage 1 Result

  1. Kyle Bush
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Denny Hamblin
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Aric Almirola
  7. Eric Jones
  8. Jimmy Johnson
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Daniel Hemric

Stage 2 continued to spotlight Kyle Bush’s lap dominance while breaking out to six second lead over #12 Brad Keselowski Penske’s Ford.  A balanced driving effort, awarded Kyle Bush the Stage 2 win.

Auto Club 400 Stage 2 Result

  1. Kyle Bush
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Erik Jones
  8. Kurt Bush
  9. Denny Hamblin
  10. Chase Elliott

Auto Club 400 Final Stage

 A pit lane speeding violation for Kyle Bush, penalized the Joe Gibbs Toyota and shuffled #18 Toyota back in the field, to start the Final and Deciding Stage.

 Taking advantage of Kyle Bush’s error, #12 Brad Keselowski regained the lead with hard charging #18 Kyle Bush approaching as laps diminished.

With twenty-six laps from completion, Kyle Bush Toyota resumed the lead after slingshotting passed #22 Joey Logano and #12 Brad Keselowski .

While contenders attempted to gain position on the #18 Gibbs Toyota, Kyle Bush patiently drove his lines to victory

Auto Club 400 Final Results

  1. Kyle Bush
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Kurt Bush
  7. Denny Hamblin
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Austin Dillon

Race 6 of the Monster Energy NASCAR Series travels cross country to Martinsville Speedway  Sunday, March 24th 2019, 2:00  p.m. for the STP 500     FS1    

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR