Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Byron Gets Rain Shortened W in the ATL

Credit: HAMPTON, GEORGIA - JULY 09: William Byron, driver of the #24 Axalta Chevrolet, celebrates in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Cup Series Quaker State 400 Available at Walmart at Atlanta Motor Speedway on July 09, 2023 in Hampton, Georgia. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

William Byron collects the rain-shortened Quaker State 400 Trophy at HotLanta

HAMPTON, GEORGIA – July 9, 2023 – Anthony Holbrook

The 20th NASCAR Cup Series point’s race of the 2023 campaign was hostedby the Atlanta Motor Speedway, Sunday July 9 th , 2023. The 1.54-mile refurbished Quad Oval Asphalt intermediate track located in Hampton, Georgia was reconfigured in 2021 completing one season of racing events under its new alignment, inviting 260 scheduled laps of NASCAR Cup racing.

Aric Almirola and Ryan Blaney qualified to the honor of leading the field to green. The Blue oval
reputation of running cool at Hotlanta may be challenged with approaching weather

Stage 1 – Recap:
Quaker State 400 available at Walmart
Aric Almirola will battle Ryan Blaney for the opening lead separating from Blaney by choosing
the outside express lane.
Previous Atlanta race winner Joey Logano works his way to the front as 20 laps remain. Ryan
Blaney will shake up the field bumping Aric Almirola back to the post counting 18 to go in Stage

  1. In addition, Blaney continues to play Car Chess as Ryan bolts his oval teammate Joey Logano
    to the lead 6 laps later.
    A plan perfectly executed by Ryan Blaney’s race team as he sharpshoots inside race leader Joey
    Logano to inherit the lead with 3 circuits surviving.
    Ryan Blaney prevails as Stage 1 winner at HotLanta!

Stage 1 – Results:
Quaker State 400 available at Walmart

  1. Ryan Blaney
  2. Kyle Larson
  3. Martin Truex Jr
  4. Joey Logano
  5. William Byron
  6. Christopher Bell
  7. Austin Cindric
  8. Michael McDowell
  9. Tyler Reddick
  10. Aric Almirola

Stage 2 – Recap:
Quaker State 400 available at Walmart
Blaney leads the field to the pit lane, but Larson wins the race to the pit exit. Martin Truex Jr
gets turned as he’s leaving his pit stall.
The opening of Stage 2 continues to highlight the epic battle between Logano and Blaney quest
for the lead. Ryan will resume the lead only to be challenged in the future by worthy
20 laps in the Stage, William Byron will be bolted by Corey Lajoie sending the previous race
leader out of control enticing a strategic caution flag. With race teams monitoring impending
weather, Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Preece and Bubba Wallace decline pit service while most of the
field hit pit lane.
Corey Lajoie continued to impact the race as he is bumped out of control in front of the field
collecting major race contenders Gibbs and Ross Chastain and others in the domino collision.
Lingering storm clouds motivates Cup Champ Brad Keselowiski as he approaches Austin Cindric
for the lead.
Previous Penskee teammate Ryan Blaney shows Blue Oval loyalty bumping Brad Keselowiski to
the front.
A closing caution courtesy of a confrontation between Denny Hamlin and Alex Bowman allows
Brad Keselowiski to secure the lead as he guards off approaching danger. Brad Keselowski
collects Stage 2 Win under the Caution flag.

Stage 2 – Results:
Quaker State 400 available at Walmart

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Chris Buescher
  4. Austin Cindric;
  5. AJ Allmendinger
  6. Bubba Wallace
  7. Justin Haley
  8. Michael McDowell
  9. Christopher Bell
  10. Ryan Preece

Final Stage Recap –
Quaker State 400 available at Walmart

With teams anticipating the stated race to be announced early in the final stage, strategies will
be accelerated as weathered clouds invade the Hampton vicinity area. Drivers will be racing
the storm in quest to be the lap leader when weather interrupts racing activities.
William Byron teams with Michael McDowell boosting him to the forefront only to be
overtaken by A J Allmendinger as teams monitor incoming inclement weather.
William Byron chance to challenge for the lead displayed on Lap 94 with the help of Daniel
Suarez bumper horn. Viewing from the front, William Byron has an opportunity to hit his
preferred lines as the competition and storms advance. Aggressive driving opens doors for
accidents as Ryan Preece is tagged by Daytona 500 winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr. with Bubba
Wallce collected in the aftermath inviting a final Caution.
As Storms cover the track facility and for the safety of those racing and of attendance, Nascar
officials without hesitant called the Quaker State 400 race.
William Byron was awarded the Quaker State 400 race win adjoining to his 3 previous season
victories during his 2023 Playoff campaign.

Atlanta Motor Speedway
NASCAR Cup Series
Quaker State 400 available at Walmart
July 09, 2023
Pos | Driver

  1. William Byron
  2. Daniel Suarez
  3. AJ Allmendinger
  4. Michael McDowell
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. JJ Yeley
  8. Ryan Blaney
  9. Justin Haley
  10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  11. Erik Jones
  12. Chris Buescher
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Austin Cindric
  15. Todd Gilliland
  16. Denny Hamlin
  17. Joey Logano
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Ty Dillon
  20. Austin Dillon
  21. BJ McLeod
  22. Chase Briscoe
  23. Christopher Bell
  24. Ryan Preece
  25. Bubba Wallace
  26. Alex Bowman
  27. Tyler Reddick
  28. Harrison Burton
  29. Martin Truex Jr
  30. Kevin Harvick
  31. Corey LaJoie
  32. Cole Custer
  33. Noah Gragson
  34. Ty Gibbs
  35. Ross Chastain
  36. Kyle Larson
  37. Austin Hill

NASCAR Cup Series Play off Points {after Quaker State 400 available at Walmart
July 09, 2023}
Pos | Driver | Points | Wins

  1. William Byron | 4 Wins | 27PP
  2. Kyle Busch | 3 Wins | 17PP
  3. Kyle Larson | 2 Wins | 12PP
  4. Martin Truex Jr | 2 Wins | 11PP
  5. Ross Chastain | 1 Win | 10PP
  6. Denny Hamlin | 1 Win | 9PP
  7. Ryan Blaney | 1 Win | 8PP
  8. Tyler Reddick | 1 Win | 8PP
  9. Christopher Bell | 1 Win | 7PP
  10. Joey Logano | 1 Win | 7PP
  11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr | 1 Win | 5PP
  12. Kevin Harvick | +126
  13. Chris Buescher | +105
  14. Brad Keselowski | +100
  15. Daniel Suarez | +3
  16. Michael McDowell | +3

— Playoff Cutline —

  1. Bubba Wallace | -3
  2. AJ Allmendinger | -13
  3. Ty Gibbs | -26
  4. Austin Cindric | -40

NASCAR Cup Series navigates due North for the Crayon 301 hosted by the New Hampshire
Motor Speedway.
Sunday, July 16 th , 2023, 2:30 p.m. EST.
USA Network / SiriusXM NASCAR Radio 90

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series