Connect with us


Candy Man Wins at Pocono

Kyle Busch - photo by Larry Robinson - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Kyle Busch – Driver of the No. 18 Gibbs Racing Team Toyota utilizing lightning quick pit stops to win at Pocono’s Tricky Triangle.

Long Pond, Pa. – June 2, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook – Bluegrass Sports Nation

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series 14th race of the 2019 season traveled to Pocono Raceway Sunday June 2, 2019 for the Pocono 400.  Drivers and Teams challenged 400 miles (160 laps) on the 2.5 paved track.  Located in eastern Pennsylvania, Pocono Raceway is the only triangular track on the Monster energy NASCAR Cup schedule.  The unique track layout offers three corners, each with different radius and banking angle.

Hendrick Driver of the No. 24 – William Byron continued to roll off Bush Pole Awards by capturing the point for the Pocono 400.   Byron led the field for the first 20 laps in Stage 1 until a mandated caution flag was waved, due to severe rain storms which accrued the previous night.  Teams resorted to 2-tire pit service for track position advancement.  Kyle Larson – Driver of the No. 42 Ford capitalized with this strategy to win Stage 1.

 Stage 1 Results

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. William Byron
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. Ryan Blaney
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Kyle Busch

Stage 2

Kyle Larson would be challenged by Driver of the Penske No. 2 Ford – Brad Keselowski and both would swap the lead at the early segments in Stage 2.  Austin Dillion brought out the 2nd caution as his No. 3 Chevy pounds the wall, ending his day.  By far a race not expected and or anticipated for the Dillions, as Tye Dillion – Driver of the No. 13 Hendrick Chevrolet brushed the wall only a lap after his brother’s accident. Brad Keselowski’s decision to stay out for track positioning at the beginning of the final Stage would hampered Brad’s chances to stay up front, Shortly thereafter Brad’s lead was relinquished to Kyle Busch.   A stray of domino cautions at lap 58 involved Driver of the No. 95 Deavine Family Motorsports Toyota – Matt DiBenedetto and Matt Tifft – Diver of the No. 36 Font Row Motor Sports Team whom initiated car damage as result losing control of their cars.

With 28 laps left to decide the outcome of the race, Clint Boyer – Driver of the Stuart- Haas Ford charged to the lead passing front runner Kyle Busch.  Entering in as one of the favorites, Martin Trues Jr. encountered engine problems and was force to pit behind the wall with 8 laps to go. 

With 3 laps remaining in Stage 2, top Stage contenders Kyle Bush, Eric Jones –No.88 Hendrick Chevy and Denny Hamblin-No. 11 Toyota opting for pit service, losing valuable track position .  Kyle Larson drove his lines holding off an advancing Brad Keselowski for the Stage 2 win.

 Stage 2 Results

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Ryan Blaney
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Erik Jones

Final Stage

By relying on speedy pit service, Kyle Busch was able to regain the lead on the Final Stage restart. Kevin Harvick – Driver of the No. 4 Stuart-Haas Ford begin to make strides to the front as he trimmed into Kyle Busch’s lead.  Busch teamed up with other drivers to pit  on similar sequences to circulate his No. 18 Toyota back to the front claiming his 55th Monster Energy NASCAR Cup career win and 4th victory of the 2019 Cup schedule.

Final Stage Results

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Clint Bowyer
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Joey Logano
  8. Daniel Suarez
  9. William Byron
  10. Aric Almirola
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. Ryan Blaney
  13. Daniel Hemric
  14. Chris Buescher
  15. Alex Bowman
  16. Ryan Newman
  17. Matt DiBenedetto
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Michael McDowell
  21. Bubba Wallace
  22. Kevin Harvick
  23. Ryan Preece
  24. Ross Chastain
  25. Bayley Currey
  26. Kyle Larson
  27. Ty Dillon
  28. Reed Sorenson
  29. Quin Houff
  30. David Ragan
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  33. Matt Tifft
  34. JJ Yeley
  35. Martin Truex Jr.
  36. Corey LaJoie
  37. Austin Dillon

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Race No. 15 locates to Michigan International Speedway, Sunday June 8th 2019 for the FireKeepers Casino 400  2:00 pm FS1

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR