Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Chapstick for Reddick

Alejandro Alvarez | NASCAR

Tyler Reddick kisses Indy’s bricks as a two-time Cup winner in last five races.

INDIANAPOLIS – July 31, 2022 – Anthony Holbrook

NASCAR Cup Series race teams’ ventured to Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course to test the 2.49 mile -14-turn road course nestled within the famed “Brickyard”.

Tyler Reddick checked off his second career pole position and led the field to green for Sunday’s Verizon 200 at the Brickyards Road Course.

NASCAR’s present “Hottest Commodity” Tyler Reddick would be endure restart after restart, defending challenges from Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott and Ross Chastain to win his second career victory in the last 5 races.

Verizon 200– Recap:
Richard Childress Racing driver Tyler Reddick captured the lead for the final time with only 33 circuits remaining pronouncing himself as the one to deal with till checkers.

In the final chicane, Tyler Reddick forcefully navigated past an aggressive Ross Chastain to remain at the post. Reddick accelerated to the lead on the final Overtime restart, but Chastain had a dog that wanted to fight.
Chastain charged past Reddick on the backstretch after cutting a corner on the access road in Turn 1. NASCAR immediately penalized Chastain 30 seconds to be added on his final finishing position. Reddick eventually passed Reddick in Turn 12 inheriting the white flag and setting off for the checkered.

Checkers and Chapstick awaited the Young Phenom.

Verizon 200- Results:
Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Lap length: 2.439 mile / 14 Turn

  1. Tyler Reddick
  2. Ross Chastain*
  3. Austin Cindric
  4. Harrison Burton
  5. Todd Gilliland
  6. Bubba Wallace
  7. Joey Logano
  8. AJ Allmendinger
  9. Michael McDowell
  10. Cole Custer
  11. Chris Buescher
  12. Kyle Busch
  13. Christopher Bell
  14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  15. Denny Hamlin
  16. Erik Jones
  17. Chase Elliott
  18. Ty Gibbs
  19. Corey LaJoie
  20. Justin Haley
  21. Brad Keselowski
  22. Martin Truex Jr
  23. Josh Bilicki
  24. Chase Briscoe
  25. Cody Ware
  26. Josh Williams
  27. Ryan Blaney
  28. Daniel Suarez
    29. Austin Dillon**
  29. Joey Hand
  30. William Byron
  31. Alex Bowman
  32. Kevin Harvick
  33. Ty Dillon
  34. Kyle Larson
  35. Daniil Kvyat
  36. Loris Hezemans
  37. Aric Almirola
  • Ross Chastain crossed the line in 2nd. However, after a penalty for cutting the course on the
    last restart he’s been regulated to 27th.
    ** Austin Dillon crossed the line in 29th but was relegated to 30th for the same move as
    Chase Elliott cushioned a 53 points separation and remained at the peak of the standings with
    787 points, while retaining a 105-point lead over Ross Chastain and a 111-point lead over Ryan
    Blaney in the NASCAR Cup Series point’s standings.
    Playoff Point’s Leader Board
    Pos | Driver | Wins / Points | Playoff Points
  1. Chase Elliott 4 Wins | 25PP
  2. Ross Chastain 2 Wins | 14PP
  3. William Byron 2 Wins | 13PP
  4. Joey Logano 2 Wins | 12PP
  5. Tyler Reddick 2 Wins | 12PP
  6. Denny Hamlin 2 Wins | 12PP
  7. Kyle Larson 1 Win | 8PP
  8. Chase Briscoe 1 Win | 8PP
  9. Daniel Suarez 1 Win | 7PP
  10. Kurt Busch 1 Win | 7PP
  11. Christopher Bell 1 Win | 6PP
  12. Kyle Busch 1 Win | 6PP
  13. Alex Bowman 1 Win | 6PP
  14. Austin Cindric 1 Win | 6PP
  15. Ryan Blaney +121
  16. Martin Truex Jr +96
    — Playoff Cutline —
  17. Kevin Harvick -96
  18. Aric Almirola -156
  19. Erik Jones -175
  20. Bubba Wallace -213
    The NASCAR Cup Series travels to Michigan International Speedway for the Firekeepers Casino
    400, with only four races remaining for race teams to secure their ticket to the Playoffs.
    Sunday August 7
    3 p.m. ET
    (NBC USA Network, SirisXM-NASCAR 90)

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series