Connect with us


Chase Captures Checkers

Chase Elliott - photo by Larry Robinson - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Chase Elliott Collects his 4th career victory, capturing the Geico 500 at Talladega.

Talladega, Ala. – April 28, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook – Bluegrass Sports Nation

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series 10th race of the season motivated to Talladega Superspeedway for Geico 500 Sunday April 28th, 2019.

At 2.66 miles in diameter, the Talladega tri-oval became the longest superspeedway on the NASCAR schedule when opened in 1969. In fact, many top drivers boycotted the inaugural running of the Talladega 500, questioning contemporary tires could withstands anticipated speeds. In 1987, Dawsonville, Ga. very own, Bill Elliott set the NASCAR record for the fastest qualifying lap at 212.809 mph. Cup Champion Bill Elliott collected 2 career victories at the famed track.

After NASCAR implemented an additional 1-inch whicker (speed reducer) to the rear spoiler, Chase Elliott – Driver of the No. 9 Hendrick Chevy captured Pole for the Geico 500.

Martin-Truex Jr. – Driver of the No. 19 Toyota controlled the point after Pit circulation, mid-way of Stage 1.   Ty Dillion– Driver of the No. 13 Hendrick Chevrolet secured the lead by passing Martin-Truex Jr. who battled fuel issues with 6 laps of conclusion of Stage 1.  Ty Dillion’s  was awarded his second stage win of the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Series season.

Stage 1 Results

  1. Ty Dillion
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. Austin Dillion
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. William Byron
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Kyle Busch
  10. Matt DiBenedetto

Taking advantage of teamwork, Chase Elliott teamed up with Hendrick Chevy No.88 –Alex Bowman and No. 24-William Byron to hold off any challengers as Chase raced to collect Stage 1 win.

Stage 2 Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. William Byron
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Austin Dillion
  6. Kurt Bush
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Daniel Hemric
  9. Joey Logano
  10. Kyle Busch

With only 4 laps remaining in the race, Chase Elliott seized the lead after a multi car accident involving No. 41 –Kyle LarsonElliott’s teammates guarded any approaching danger as Chase Elliott captured the first victory for Chevrolet in the 2019 Monster Energy Cup season.

Final Stage / GEICO 500 Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. Ryan Preece
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Daniel Hemric
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Brendan Gaughan
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Corey Lajoie
  12. Daniel Suarez
  13. Brad Keselowski
  14. Austin Dillion
  15. Ryan Blaney
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Ty Dillion
  18. Reed Sorenson
  19. Erik Jones
  20. Martin Truex Jr.
  21. William Byron
  22. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  23. Ryan Ragan
  24. Kyle Larson
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Ross Chastain
  27. Parker Kligerman
  28. Cody Ware
  29. Clint Bowyer
  30. Chris Buescher
  31. Chris Dibenedtto
  32. Justin Haley
  33. Jimmie Johnson
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Stanton Barrett
  36. Denny Hamlin
  37. Matt Tifft
  38. Kevin Harvick
  39. Bubba Wallace
  40. Michael McDowell

Average Speed: 161.331 mph

Caution Flags:  6 for 21 laps

Lead Changes: 37 among 15 Drivers

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Race No. 11 travels to Dover International Speedway, Sunday May 5th for the AAA 400 Drive for Autism / 2:00 pm  FS1

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR