Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Chase Elliott is “Raining” King of the Roval


Playoff Contender Chase Elliott takes control the last 18 laps cruzing to his 9th career Victory and Back to Back checkers at the Roval.

CONCORD, N.C. – October 11, 2020 – ANTHONY HOLBROOK

 The NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Round of 12 concluded Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway Bank  for the Bank of America ROVAL 400.  The ROVAL course, introduced in 2018, allows teams to utilize rain tires if inclement weather becomes an issue upon this Playoff elimination race.

Bank of America ROVAL– Stage 1 recap:

Awarded pole position Denny Hamlin brought the field to green with most team opting for rain tires.

Brad Keselowski drove pass Denny Hamlin and would lead the field on Lap1.

 Chase Elliott moved forward controlling the pace until the mandated competition caution on Lap 10.  Gambling on weather, some teams switch to slick tires for additional traction.

Ty Diilon who transferred to slicks tires during the caution, enabled Ty Dillon to track down race leader Clint Bowyer

A final Stage 1 caution brought out by a John Hunter Nemechek’s spin out, brought the field to pit for tire adjustments.

Tye Dillon holds on to a final lap shoot- out collecting the win.

Bank of America ROVAL– Stage 1 Results: 

1.Ty Dillon
2. Christopher Bell
3. Matt DiBenedetto
4. William Byron
5. Timmy Hill
6. Ryan Newman
7. Ryan Blaney
8. Joey Logano
9.  Bubba Wallace
10. Erik Jones

Bank of America ROVAL– Stage 2 recap:

Christopher Bell chances to hold on to the top spot faded as William Byron set his sights and claimed the post.  William Byron would be challenged and over took by 2018 Royal Winner Ryan Blaney. Closing laps involved multiple cautions including an unscheduled pit stop to attend a tire issue from reigning NASCAR Cup Champion Kyle BushRyan Blaney pilots past race leader to William Byron onward to collect Stage 2 honors. 

Bank of America ROVAL– Stage 2 Results:

1. Ryan Byron
2. Chase Elliott
3. Christopher Bell
4. Martin Truex Jr.
5. Joey Logano
6. Alex Bowman
7.William Byron
8. Tyler Reddick
9. Michael McDowell
10.Brad Keselowski

Bank of America ROVAL– Final Stage Results:

With the final Stage advancing, race contender Chase Elliott has an unscheduled pit-stop to retighten lug nuts from previous pit service. Chase Elliott would return to make up lost ground.

Playoff Contender Clint Bowyer playoff contention diminished as steering issues forced him to pit for attention.

Race leader Ryan Blaney overdrives and slides off the track handing the lead to Ryan Preece. Battling not to be eliminated, Alex Bowman drive to the front claiming the lead with 28 circuits remaining.

 A debris caution came into play as Chase Elliott passes Alex Bowman and Erik Jones on his way again to regain the lead.

Chase Elliott would own the final 18 laps as the field appeared smaller in his rear view mirror.

Bank of America ROVAL 400  –  Final Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Kurt Busch
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. William Byron
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Alex Bowman
  9. Cole Custer
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Tyler Reddick
  13. Jimmie Johnson
  14. Ryan Preece
  15. Denny Hamlin
  16. Aric Almirola
  17. Ricky Stenhouse
  18. Brad Keselowski
  19. Austin Dillon
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Bubba Wallace
  22. Matt DiBenedetto
  23. Ty Dillon
  24. Christopher Bell
  25. Daniel Suarez
  26. Gray Gaulding
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Quin Houff
  29. James Davison
  30. Kyle Busch
  31. Ryan Newman
  32. Michael McDowell
  33. Josh Bilicki
  34. Matt Kenseth
  35. Jj Yeley
  36. John Hunter Nemechek
  37. Brennan Poole
  38. Timmy Hill

Advancing – NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Contenders to the Round of 8

Denny Hamlin

Kurt Busch

Kevin Harvick

Chase Elliott

Brad Keselowski

Martin Truex Jr

Joey Logano

Alex Bowman

Failing to Advance – NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Contenders to Round of Eight

Kyle Busch

Clint Bowyer

Austin Dillon

Aric Almirola

The NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs Round of 8 returns on October 18th for the Hollywood 500 hosted by Kansas Speedway at 2:30 p.m. on NBC / SiriusXM 90 NASCAR Radio/PRN

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series