Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Chase Elliott Wins Season Finale 500 and NASCAR Cup!

Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Chase Elliott, the son of Hall of Famer Bill Elliott, ran a flawless Championship race, leading 153 of 312 laps at Phoenix Raceway and held off fellow title contender Brad Keselowski by more than 2.7 seconds at the finish.  NASCAR’s most popular driver is now a NASCAR Cup Champion.


The abbreviated 2020 NASCAR season concluded Sunday with the 2020 Season Finale 500 hosted by Phoenix Raceway. Four contenders remaining in the point’s race, with Joey Logano, Chase Elliott, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin making up the Championship 4 in quest for the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Championship. The conclusion of the 2020 Season Finale 500 will also be the final start for both seven-time champion Jimmie Johnson and 2012 Cup runner-up Clint Bowyer as full-time Cup Series drivers.


Stage 1 recap:

Joey Logano held off Denny Hamlin to take the Stage 1 win as all four title contenders finished in the top-four.

Chase Elliott was third, Brad Keselowski fourth and Ryan Blaney rounded out the top-five.

The No. 9 Chevrolet awarded the Season Finale pole and overcame an early setback after starting at the back of the field following a failed pre-race inspection, twice.


Stage 1 results:

1. Joey Logano

2. Denny Hamlin

3. Chase Elliott

4. Brad Keselowski

5. Ryan Blaney

6. Kyle Busch

7. Alex Bowman

8. Clint Bowyer

9. Kurt Busch

10. Matt DiBenedetto


Stage 2 recap:

As Cup-Champion Brad Keselowski edged ahead of  Chase Elliott for a Stage 2 win, extensive pit-row service would hamper Brad’s advancement multiple times throughout the 312-lap race.

Checking off Stage 1 honors, Joey Logano struggled with an uncommon vibration in the Stage 2 settling for third in the sandbox.

Denny Hamlin crosses the line fourth and Ryan Blaney rounded out the top-five.


Stage 2 recap:

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Brad Keselowski;
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Matt DiBenedetto
  10. William Byron
  11. Alex Bowman
  12. Ryan Newman


Final Stage recap:

Chase Elliott sets the pace with a title-winning move, accelerating past Joey Logano for the lead at 40 circuits until checkers.

20 laps remaining, Chase Elliott accumulated a 2.7-second lead over Joey Logano and appeared to be in excellent position to win his second consecutive race and first series title.

Brad Keselowski worked around Joey Logano to claim the runner-up spot with 10 laps to go.  Unfortunately Brad was still more than 3 seconds behind the new 2020 Cup champ.

Chase Elliott led seven times for a race-high 153 laps and most important, the final lap.

The 24-year-old followed in the championship footsteps of his father, awesome Bill Elliott, who won the 1988 Winston Cup Series championship.

The win for Hendrick Motorsports and Chevrolet was the first since Jimmie Johnson, who retired from Cup competition after the season finale race, won his seventh and final crown in 2016.

Jimmie Johnson finished fifth in his final ride in Hendrick’s No. 48 Chevrolet.


Final Stage results:

1. Chase Elliott
2. Brad Keselowski
3. Joey Logano
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Jimmie Johnson
6. Ryan Blaney
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Matt DiBenedetto
9. William Byron
10. Martin Truex Jr
11. Kyle Busch
12. Kurt Busch
13. Aric Almirola
14. Clint Bowyer
15. Bubba Wallace
16. Alex Bowman
17. Christopher Bell
18. Austin Dillon
19. Tyler Reddick
20. Chris Buescher
21. Ty Dillon
22. Erik Jones
23. Michael McDowell
24. Ryan Newman
25. Matt Kenseth
26. John Hunter Nemechek
27. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
28. Cole Custer
29. Brannan Poole
30. JJ Yeley
31. Daniel Suarez
32. Joey Gase
33. James Davison
34. Ryan Preece
35. Josh Bilicki
36. Timmy Hill
37. Garrett Smithley
38. Corey LaJoie
39. Quin Houff

Daytona International Speedway will host the first point’s race of the 2021 season:

2021 Daytona 500 / Great American Race – February 14th 2021       

NBC   Nascar  Sirus XM 90  PRN

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series