Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Chris Buescher checks off Back-to-Back NASCAR Cup Series Victories with win at Michigan.

Credit: BROOKLYN, MICHIGAN - AUGUST 07: Chris Buescher, driver of the #17 Castrol Edge Ford, celebrates in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Cup Series FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 07, 2023 in Brooklyn, Michigan. (Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images)

Brooklyn, MI. – The NASCAR Cup Series Race Teams unloaded at Michigan International Speedway’s 2-mile oval Sunday for the annual running of the Firekeepers Casino 400.  Christopher Bell and Ross Chastain occupied the front row and led the field to Green with storms arising.

Firekeepers Casino 400 – Recap:

Stage 1

The lead segment went to Ross Chastain with the aid of Tye Gibbs’s bump draft propelling Chastain to the front.  Ross unfortunately surrendered his position to Martin Truex Jr. courtesy of a Kyle Bush caution flag  and a strategy call 15 laps into the race.

Martin Truex Jr.  warded off any approaching threat and claimed the Stage 1 Checkers at Michigan International Speedway.

Firekeepers Casino 400Results:

Stage 1

 1. Martin Truex Jr

2. Bubba Wallace

3. Ty Gibbs

4. Brad Keselowski

5. Kyle Larson

6. Daniel Suarez

7. Alex Bowman

8. Denny Hamlin

9. Erik Jones

10. Corey LaJoie

Firekeepers Casino 400 – Recap:

Stage 2

The yellow flag invited many contenders whom opted past opportunities for pit attention.  Alex Bowman differed and stayed out and was awarded post position after pit recycling completed.

Christopher Bell gambled and spun-out mid-point of the Stage, attempting to pass Alex Bowman. Bell’s caution flag devastated a positive progression in his favor.

A new No. 1 Position on the leader board spotlighted No. 45 Tyler Reddick shooting past race leader Christopher Bowman to pace the field as stormy weather clouds entered the Irish Hills vicinity.

Incumbent Weather on Lap 74 forced NASCAR Cup Officials to Red flag any further stated events of the Firekeepers Casino 400 and postpone till the following Monday at High Noon.

Monday August 7th, 2023, Firekeepers Casino 400 – Restart – Stage 2

Bubba Wallace took charge early in Stage 2 Restart, only to be overtook by Martin Truex Jr on Lap 99.

Being on a different pit cycle, Martin Truex Jr. attended pit service and relinquished the lead after an unwelcomed Ryan Preece’ Caution flag.

Pit strategies came to the forefront as race teams strategized necessary stops to be in contention to win Stage 2. 

Utilizing fresh Goodyears, Martin Truex Jr. gained momentum and increased his chances to recapture the lead.   Martin Truex Jr.  surged past Race Leader Daniel Suarez as Stage 2 Checker’s fly.

Martin Truex Jr. adds additional Stage points to his Championship campaign collecting Stage 2 Honors.

Firekeepers Casino 400Results:

Stage 2

1. Martin Truex Jr

2. Daniel Suarez

3. Brad Keselowski

4. Bubba Wallace

5. Alex Bowman

6. Kyle Larson

7. Joey Logano

8. AJ Allmendinger

9. Austin Cindric

10. Chris Buescher

Firekeepers Casino 400Recap:

Final Stage

Previous Richmond race winner Chris Buescher declined pit service and stayed out cycling back to the front of the pack.

With laps descending, Tyler Reddick stayed within firing range of Chris Buescher as both had to pit under green flag conditions.

A speedy pit service escalated Tyler Riddick past Chris Buescher only to be stricken by an inaccurate tire change.  Tyler returns to pit for tire replacement ending any chance of a prosperous finish on Lap 156.

With less than 20 Laps remaining Martin Truex Jr.  started hounding race leader Chris Buescher for the top spot. Martin Truex Jr.’s  multiple attempts to pass were countered by blocks as Christopher Buescher drives with his rear-view mirror.

Chris Buescher wins Back-to-Back NASCAR Cup Series consecutive races in the 2023 Season.

Michigan International Speedway
Race Results :
August 7, 2023
NASCAR Cup Series

Pos | Driver

1. Chris Buescher

2. Martin Truex Jr

3. Denny Hamlin

4. Brad Keselowski

5. Kyle Larson

6. Daniel Suarez

7. Ross Chastain

8. Kevin Harvick

9. Ryan Blaney

10. Erik Jones

11. Ty Gibbs

12. Austin Cindric

13. Christopher Bell

14. Joey Logano

15. Corey LaJoie

16. Aric Almirola

17. Harrison Burton

18. Bubba Wallace

19. Austin Dillon

20. Ty Dillon

21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

22. Ryan Preece

23. Justin Haley

24. Michael McDowell

25. Cole Custer

26. AJ Allmendinger

27. JJ Yeley

28. Austin Hill

29. Todd Gilliland

30. Tyler Reddick

31. Chase Briscoe

32. Josh Bilicki

33. Alex Bowman

34. Josh Berry

35. William Byron

36. Chase Elliott

37. Kyle Busch

2023 NASCAR Cup Series / Point Standings

Pos | Driver        Wins / Points     Playoff Points

(After Firekeepers Casino 400   8/7/2023)

1. William Byron | 4 Wins | 22PP

2. Martin Truex Jr | 3 Wins | 20PP

3. Kyle Busch | 3 Wins | 17PP

4. Denny Hamlin | 2 Wins | 14PP

5. Kyle Larson | 2 Wins | 13PP

6. Chris Buescher | 2 Wins | 11PP

7. Ross Chastain | 1 Win | 10PP

8. Tyler Reddick | 1 Win | 9PP

9. Ryan Blaney | 1 Win | 8PP

10. Joey Logano | 1 Win | 8PP

11. Christopher Bell | 1 Win | 7PP

12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr | 1 Win | 5PP

13. Kevin Harvick | +180

14. Brad Keselowski | +168

15. Bubba Wallace | +58

16. Ty Gibbs | +3

— Playoff Cutline —

17. Michael McDowell | -3

18. Daniel Suarez | -5

19. AJ Allmendinger | -24

20. Alex Bowman | -44

The NASCAR Cup Series shifts to the iconic Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the annual running of the Verizon 200 at the Brickyard scheduled:

Sunday,     August 13th, 2023     2:30 p.m. NBC, MRN , Sirius XM 90 (Nascar Channel)

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series