Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Cole Powers Kentucky

Cole Custer - photo by Brendon D. Miller - BSN

22 year old NASCAR Cup Rookie Cole Custer secures his first career win Sunday at Kentucky Speedway in a four-wide final lap finale.

SPARTA – July 12, 2020 – Anthony Holbrook

NASCAR Cup Series traveled to the Bluegrass State Sunday July 12th for the Quaker State 400 hosted by the Kentucky Speedway.  Covid-19 restrictions continue to umbrella the abbreviated race weekend and participant’s involved.   Additionally, Spectators were not allowed to view the event for safety conditions and concerns.

Quaker State 400 – Stage 1 Recap:

Gibbs Racing Driver No. 18 – Kyle Busch, who started on the pole from a random draw, led the first nine laps of the Quaker State 400 until Stuart-Haas Driver No. 10 – Aric Almirola passed Kyle Bush to grab the top spot on Lap 10.

Aric Almirola guarded the point building a 4 second lead with 5 laps remaining cruising to his second stage victory of the 2020 season.

No. 9 Hendrick Driver – Chase Elliott crossed the checkers second, No. 22 – Joey Logano third, Woods Brother’s Driver No. 21 – Matt DiBenedetto finished fourth and Ryan Blaney’s Penske No. 12 Ford rounded out the top-five after battling a shifter issue.

Quaker State 400 – Stage 1 Results:

  1. Aric Almirola
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Matt DiBenedetto
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Martin Truex Jr.

Quaker State 400 – Stage 2 Results:

On Lap 155,  No. 42 – Matt Kenseth spun through Turns 3 and 4 to bring out a caution with just one car remaining – No. 2 Brad Keselowski – to make a green-flag stop. 

Keselowski led the way followed by Blaney and Logano when the race returned to green on Lap 160.

Keselowski held off a charging Blaney in a one-lap dash following a caution to claim the Stage 2 win.  Stuart-Haas Driver No. 41 – Cole Custer was third, Logano fourth and No. 19 Martin Truex Jr. rounded out the top-five.

Quaker State 400 – Stage 2 Results:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Cole Custer
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Alex Bowman
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Matt DiBenedetto

10) Eric Jones

Quaker State 400 400 – Final recap:

For the final restart, Cole Custer’s Ford mustang was positioned on the outside of the third row when the field took the green flag. The 22-year-old Cup Series rookie sliced his way to the outside to resume the point passing Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Blaney and  No. 4 -Kevin Harvick on the last lap coming out of turn two to get to the lead heading to the white flag. 

Cup Champion Martin Truex Jr. fell short of real-estate battling on the last lap as Custer crossed the finish line first.

Cole Custer would lead only 5 of the 267 laps in the Quaker State 400 presented by Walmart.  The final lap was most rewarding.

Quaker State 400 400 – Final results:

  1. Cole Custer
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Matt DiBenedetto
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Kurt Bush
  6. Ryan Blaney
  7. Christopher Bell
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Brad Keselowski

      10) Tyler Reddick

     11.) William Byron

     12.) Denny Hamlin

     13.) Austin Dillon

     14.) Clint Bowyer

     15.) Joey Logano

     16.) Ty Dillon

     17.) Ryan Newman

     18.) Jimmie Johnson

     19.) Alex Bowman

     20,) Chris Buescher

     21.) Kyle Busch

     22.) Erik Jones

     23.) Chase Elliott

     24.) Michael McDowell

     25.) Matt Kenseth

     26.) Daniel Suarez

     27.) Bubba Wallace

     28.) Corey LaJoie

     29.) Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

     30.) JJ Yeley

     31.) Brennan Poole

     32.) Josh Bilicki

     33.) Garrett Smithley

     34.) Joey Gase

     35.) Quin Houff

     36.) John Hunter Nemechek

     37.) Timmy Hill

     38.) Ryan Preece

The NASCAR Cup Series’ next event is the (NON-POINTS) NASCAR All-Star Race hosted by Bristol Motor Speedway – Wednesday (8:30 p.m. ET, FS1, MRN, SiriusXM).

The NASCAR Cup All-Star Open qualifier Race is scheduled Wednesday (7 p.m. ET, FS1, MRN, SiriusXM)  Bristol Motor Speedway The next (POINTS) race for the NASCAR Cup Series scheduled next Sunday (3 p.m. ET, NBCSN, PRN, SiriusXM) at Texas Motor Speedway for the O’Riley Auto 500.

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series