Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Elliott Goes Back to Back at the Glen

Chase Elliott - photo by Larry Robinson - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Dawsonville Georgia Native – Chase Elliott dominates 81 of 90 laps for win

Watkins Glen, N.Y. – Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series 22nd race of the 2019 season located to Watkins Glen International Sunday Aug. 4th, 2019 for the Go Bowling at The Glen.  Watkins Glen International nestled in western New York State and known for much of its history as simply “The Glen,” has played host to numerous forms of racing. Watkins Glen International lengthy 2.45-mile distance allows far higher speeds while navigating through tight turns.  Crowning the “Glen” the fastest of the two road courses on the Monster Cup Energy NASCAR Series schedule. 

Photo Larry Robinson – BSN

Young Gun – Chase Elliott – Driver of the Hendrick No. 9 Chevrolet Camaro won the “Go Bowling at The Glen” Bush Pole Award and paced to field to green.

Stage 1

NASCAR most favorite driver- Chase Elliott proclaimed his presence in Stage 1 by displaying a “wire to wire” performance by dominating the first 20 laps in Stage 1.

Stage 1 Results

  1. Chase Elliott 
  2. Denny Hamlin                                   
  3. Martin Truex Jr
  4. Kyle Busch                                     
  5. William Byron                                 
  6. Jimmie Johnson                             
  7. Kyle Larson                                    
  8. Erik Jones                                      
  9. Kurt Busch

10.  Aric Almirola

Stage 2

Chase Elliott relinquished his lead to Driver of the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Chevrolet Camaro – Kyle Larson for Stage 2 Pit Service.  Within a few laps later, Elliott regained the point with authority.  A Lap 29 Caution created by a Bubba Wallace’s No. 43 Petty Ford brought out yellow flag for conclusion of the final lap, securing a Stage 2 win to Chase Elliott.

STAGE 2 Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. Erik Jones
  9. Ryan Blaney

10. Jimmie Johnson

Final Stage

It was perceptible that the Final Stage laps would be decided between a two-car battle including Chase Elliott and Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota No. 19 – Martin Truex Jr.   With 10 laps remaining, Martin Truex Jr. began to apply pressure to the lap-leader Elliott in the Final Stage.  Chase Elliott drove his marks as Truex Jr. followed in his tire tracks anticipating an Elliott driving error.  Elliott piloted his Camaro to a mistake-free final laps to pull away from Truex Jr. collecting Elliott’s second Victory of the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Schedule and fifth of this NASCAR Career.

Final Stage Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Martin Truex Jr
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Erik Jones
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Matt DiBenedetto
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Kyle Busch
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Chris Buescher
  14. Alex Bowman
  15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  16. Michael McDowell
  17. Daniel Suarez
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. William Byron
  22. David Ragan
  23. Joey Logano
  24. Matt Tifft
  25. Ryan Newman
  26. Parker Kligerman
  27. Ross Chastain
  28. Bubba Wallace
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Ty Dillon
  31. Austin Dillon
  32. Josh Bilicki
  33. Cody Ware
  34. Corey LaJoie
  35. Daniel Hemric
  36. Ryan Preece
  37. Reed Sorenson

Time of Race: 2 Hrs, 14 Mins, 17 Secs.

Average Speed: 98.523 MPH

Margin of Victory: 0.454 Second

Caution Flags:

4 for 13 laps; Laps: 22-24 (Stage 1 Conclusion [51]); 34-36 (#77 Spin Inner Loop [96]); 40-43 (#43 Incident Turn 5, Stage 2 Conclusion [None]); 63-65 (#43, 18 Incident Turn 1; #48, 12 Incident Inner Loop [6]).

Lead Changes:

5 among 4 drivers; C. Elliott 1-22; K. Larson 23-28; C. Elliott 29-58; M. Truex Jr 59; P. Menard 60-62; C. Elliott 63-90.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Race No. 23 locates to the Irish Hills of Michigan International Speedway, Sunday August 11th 2019 for the Consumer Energy 400 3:00 P.M.   NBCS/MRN

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series