Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Elliott Tops in Nashville

Chase Elliott captures the checkered flag in the Ally 400 at Nashville Superspeedway Sunday night challenging domino weather obstacles throughout the evening.

Lebanon, Tenn.  – June 26, 2022 – Anthony Holbrook

The Nascar Cup Series drops in to Music City for the running of the Ally 400 sponsored by Nashville Superspeedway with a crowd of 32,000 estimated spectators.

It took Dawsonville’s native nearly seven hours and a late four-lap shootout to earn a convent Les Paul Guitar.

The race would be multiply hampered by nearby lightning strikes for which in tune delayed the race hours until weather cleared.

Nascar’s Most Favorite Driver would weathered pit stop issues sending his Hendrick’s Chevy back in the field early in event.  Enough time though for Chase Elliott to patiently maneuver back in contention after the second weather delay.

Closing in on the top 10, Chase Elliott set sights for leader Kyle Bush.

An engine issue with Josh Bilicki brought out the caution flag and option for drivers to pit, would be the decisive factor to the checkers. Chase Elliott and Crew Chief Alan Gustafson decided to stay out when those who were drafting him went to pit road; prevailed to be the right call.

Chase Elliott seized the lead from Kyle Busch on lap 264 of 300 in quest for his second win of the 2022 season. It was the 15th career win for the NASCAR Cup Series point’s standings leader

Ryan Blaney crossed the checkers, third in a Ford and followed by Hendrick’s teammate and defending race winner Kyle Larson.

Pole Sitter’ Denny Hamlin won the first two stages and dominated the most laps (114), finished fifth.

Joe Gibbs Racing teammates’ Kyle Busch, and Martin Truex Jr. circulated back to 21st, and 22nd after the late strategy pit decision which burdened too large of a deficit to overcome.

Let the Pool Hall Siren ring!

Ally 400 – Results:

1. Chase Elliott 

2. Kurt Busch

3. Ryan Blaney

4. Kyle Larson

5. Ross Chastain

6. Denny Hamlin

7. Austin Cindric

8. Christopher Bell

9. Joey Logano

10. Kevin Harvick

11. Erik Jones

12. Bubba Wallace

13. Michael McDowell

14. Austin Dillon

15. Daniel Suarez

16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

17. Aric Almirola 

18. Tyler Reddick

19. AJ Allmendinger

20. Corey Lajoie

21. Kyle Busch

22. Martin Truex Jr. 

23. Justin Haley

24. Todd Gilliland

25. Harrison Burton

26. Cole Custer

27. Cody Ware

28. JJ Yeley

29. Brad Keselowski

30. Chris Buescher

31. Ty Dillon

32. BJ McLeod

33. Josh Bilicki

34. Chase Briscoe

35. William Byron

36. Alex Bowman

The NASCAR Cup Series returns to Wisconsin’s Road America circuit next week for the Kwik Trip 250 presented by Jockey Made in America, airing 3 p.m. ET on USA.

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series