Connect with us

UK Volleyball

Emma Grome Named SEC Player of the Year; UK Puts Four on All-SEC

UK Athletics

Emma Grome wins SEC Player of the Year

LEXINGTON – November 27, 2022

Kentucky Volleyball player Emma Grome was named the Southeastern Conference’s Player of the Year as UK won the award for the fifth-straight season as Grome joins Leah Edmond (2018, 2019), Madison Lilley (2020) and Alli Stumler (2021) in the past half decade to win the award for the Wildcats.

Grome was also joined by outside hitter Adanna Rollins, opposite Reagan Rutherford and middle blocker Azhani Tealer as the four members representing Kentucky on the All-Southeastern Conference Team. With four players, Kentucky comprised the most players of any institution in the league.

Saturday afternoon, No. 16 Kentucky put the finishing touches on a sixth-straight SEC championship with a three-set sweep of South Carolina to complete the season 20-7 overall and 15-3 in league play, splitting the top spot with Florida for the trophy.

Emma Grome, SEC Player of the Year, All-SEC

  • 12.45 assists per set
  • 2.17 digs per set
  • Five-time SEC Setter of the Week
  • Two-time SEC Player of the Week

Adanna Rollins, All-SEC

  • 3.80 kills per set
  • 2.07 digs per set
  • 14 matches with 10+ kills
  • 3 double-doubles

Reagan Rutherford, All-SEC

  • 4.00 kills per set
  • 1.00 blocks per set
  • SEC Overall Player of the Week and Offensive Player of the Week
  • Six double-doubles

Azhani Tealer, All-SEC

  • 3.18 kills per set
  • 1.59 blocks per set
  • Set a new Kentucky record with 13 block assists in win Friday over South Carolina
  • Career-high tying 18 kills in win at Arkansas in return from injury

The 2022 NCAA Volleyball Selection Show is Sunday night at 7:30 p.m. ET live on ESPNU with Courtney Lyle, Holly McPeak and Katie George hosting the show as UK is expected to receive an at-large bid to compete for the NCAA Championship. The top 16 teams will receive a hosting opportunity for the first and second rounds of the tournament.

All-SEC Team

Jillian GillenArkansas
Taylor HeadArkansas
Akasha AndersonAuburn
Merritt BeasonFlorida
Marina MarkovaFlorida
Alexis StuckyFlorida
Kacie EvansGeorgia
Sophie FischerGeorgia
Emma GromeKentucky
Adanna RollinsKentucky
Reagan RutherfordKentucky
Azhani TealerKentucky
Sasha RatliffOle Miss
Gabby WadenMississippi State
Jenna HamptonSouth Carolina
Morgahn FingallTennessee
Logan LednickyTexas A&M
Caroline MeuthTexas A&M

All-Freshman Team

Akasha AndersonAuburn
Kendal KempAuburn
Madison ScheerAuburn
Alexis StuckyFlorida
Aly BorellisOle Miss
Keondreya GranberryTennessee
Logan LednickyTexas A&M

Player of the Year:                          Emma Grome, Kentucky

Libero of the Year:                          Jenna Hampton, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year:                   Alexis Stucky, Florida

Scholar-Athlete of the Year:        Morgahn Fingall, Tennessee

Coach of the Year:                           Tom Black, Georgia

Sponsored By

More in UK Volleyball