Connect with us


Hamlin Wins in Texas

Denny Hamblin - photo by Brendon D. Miller - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Overcoming a pair of pit row violations, Denny Hamlin wins the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 in Fort Worth in a strategic fashion.

Fort Worth, Texas – March 31, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook – Bluegrass Sports Nation

The Monster Cup Energy NASCAR Cup Series 7th race of the season roared to the Texas Motor Speedway for O’Reilly Auto Parts 500!!!

Located in the Northeast corner of Texas in the city of Fort Worth, Texas Motor Speedway is very similar in layout to Charlotte Motor Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway in being a 1.5-mile quad-oval with 24-degree banking in the turns. Opening since 1996, Cup drivers will battle 334 laps to earn the covenant Cowboy Hat and a pair of Six Shooters as champion of the event.

Qualifying at 188.890 mph Jimmy Johnson driver of the No. 48 Hendrick Chevy earned the Bush Pole Award and brought the field to green.  Johnson showing early dominance, checking off 60 laps in Stage 1, only to be trumped by Penske Driver of the No. 22 Ford-Joey Logano.  Logano led only 4 laps, but led the most important lap, the final one, to secure Stage 1 win.  Stage 1 was slowed down once, when Erik Jones Driver of the No. 20 Toyota spun out in Turn 2 bringing out the only caution.  Logano collected his second Stage win of the season.

STAGE 1 Results

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Austin Dillion
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Paul Menard
  7. Daniel Suarez
  8. Kyle Bush
  9. Kyle Larson
  10. Chris Buescher

Denny Hamlin-Driver of the Gibbs Racing No. 11 Toyota took advantage of a gas-only pit stop to advance his Toyota to the point, leading 15 circuits and capturing Stage 2 win and first Stage win of the season.

Stage 2 Results

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Daniel Suarez
  4. Kyle Bush
  5. Paul Menard
  6. Ryan Menard
  7. Rickey Stenhouse Jr.
  8. William Byron
  9. Michael McDowell
  10. Jimmie Johnson

Kyle Bush-Driver of the Gibbs Racing Toyota controlled the lead in the final Stage but relinquished the lead, battling a loose handing Toyota.  As result, Bush’s No. 18 Toyota slapped the wall, ending his contention for a 3 peat race weekend.  The final laps was determined by a fuel strategy format, as drivers forfeited their lead to pit.  While Drivers pitted for final service, Denny Hamlin’s No. 11 Toyota regained the lead after pit circulation, and captured his 2nd Victory of the year.

O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 Final Results

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Clint Bowyer
  3. Daniel Suarez
  4. Erik Jones
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. William Byron
  7. Aric Almirola
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Kurt Bush
  10. Kyle Bush

The win is Denny Hamlin’s 33rd of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career, 2nd career victory at Texas Motor Speedway and 2nd win of the 2019 season.

The Monster Cup Energy NASCAR Cup Series race #8 travels to the Bristol Motor Speedway for the Food City 500   Sunday April 7, 2019 / 2:00 PM ET

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR