Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Hamlin’s Special Overtime Delivery

Denny Hamlin - photo by Larry Robinson - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Denny Hamlin – Driver of the No. 11 Gibbs Racing Team Toyota gambles on fuel and wins at the “Tricky Triangle” in an Overtime-Finale.

Long Pond, Pa. – July 28, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series 21h race of the 2019 season traveled to Pocono Raceway Sunday July 28, 2019 for the Gander Outdoors 400.  Pocono Raceway is the only triangular track on the Monster energy NASCAR Cup schedule which offers three corners, each with different radius and banking angle on a unique Triangle-2.5 paved track lay-out.


With a preceding triumph at New Hampshire, Stuart-Haas  Driver of the No. 4 Chevy – Kevin Harvick  continued to exhibit momentum by seizing the Bush Pole Award and escorted the field to green at Long Pond.

Harvick’s Ford Mustang controlled the first Stage segment, pacing the field for the first 40 Laps, only to be passed by Driver of the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 18 – Kyle BushKyle Bush opted to pit early, allowing his Toyota Camry to utilize fresher tires to track down the leaders and capturing Stage 1 win.

STAGE 1 Results

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Erik Jones
  8.  Aric Almirola
  9. Kurt Busch

10.) Clint Bowyer


As Pit Strategy becomes an initial player, Kevin Harvick decided to forfeit pit service as many driver pit after Stage 1 completion and secures the point for Stage 2 green flag restart.

On Lap 79, Harvick enters the pits for a  4-Tire change and refuel , relinquishing his lead.  Chase Elliott – Driver of the Hendrick No. 9 Camaro misfortunes send his Chevy into the fence bringing out the yellow flag. This service allowed Harvick’s competitors to catch up and eventually pass the No. 4 Hendrick Chevy.  Jimmie Johnson’s No. 48 Hendrick Camaro benefited and earned the second stage win of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career.

STAGE 2 Results

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Erik Jones
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9.  Alex Bowman
  10. Kyle Larson


Two cautions in the final eight laps, was the deciding factor, to a thrilling finish as many of the top cars opted to stay on the track without pitting and gamble on fuel strategy.  Hamlin preserving his fuel, won the final caution restart clearing the field into the tunnel turn and cruised to his 3rd win of the season in overtime flavor.

Final STAGE Results

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Erik Jones
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. William Byron
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Daniel Hemric
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Kyle Busch

       10. Ryan Blaney

        11.) Clint Bowyer

        12.) Aric Almirola

        13.) Joey Logano

        14.) Ryan Newman

        15.) Jimmie Johnson

        16.) Chris Buescher

        17.) Matt DiBenedetto

        18.) Paul Menard

        19.) Austin Dillon

        20.) Alex Bowman Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Race No. 22 locates to Walkins Glen International, Sunday August 4th 2019 for the Go Bowling at The Glen  3:00 P.M.   NBCS/MRN

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series