Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Harvick is a Monster at the Mile

Kevin Harvick reels in 223 of 311 Laps Sunday, crossing the checkers 3.525 sec victory margin in routed to his 7th season win and 3rd Monster Trophy at the Mile.

DOVER – August 23, 2020 – Anthony Holbrook

NASCAR Cup Series 25th race of the Seasons wraps up a Double Header showdown Sunday at the Dover International Speedway. In continuation with Pandemic restrictions, only essential personnel allowed at event.

NASCAR  starting lineup based on the race results, with Saturday’s top 20 finishers inverted to begin Race 2. Denny Hamlin will start Sunday’s race 20th behind teammates Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch.

Drydene 311 – Stage 1 recap:

Laps : 70 (1-70)

The inversion rewarded Matt DiBenedetto and Ryan Newman on the front row to start Sunday’s Drydene 311 race.

An early collision between Joey Logano and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. sends Stenhouse spinning on the front stretch.  As cars check up behind the spin, Kyle Busch is rear-ended by Chase Elliotts bumper’s horn. Receiving the short end of the stick, Elliotts front end carnage would end anychance for contention.  Bush continues to compete.

Track debris bring out the caution flag as team dart to pit for fresh tires.  Ryan Blaney opts to stay out and inherits the point, leading the field back to green on lap 40.

Fresh tires prevail as Kevn Harvick tracks down Blaney for the lead on the final lap of Stage 1.

 Drydene 311 – Stage 1  Results

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. William Byron
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Matt DiBenedetto
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Kurt Bush
  10. Austin Dillion

NASCAR displays a 12 minute Red Flag delay as track construction officials repair a concrete patch near the start/finish line in the restart zone, where track damage has emerged due to spoiler drag.

Drydene 311 – Stage 2 recap:

Laps: 115 (71-185 / 311)

Kevin Harvick officially clinches the regular season championship collecting 15 playoff points by sweeping both Stage 1 & 2 in a dominating fashion.

Drydene 311 – Stage 2  Results

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. William Byron
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. Cole Custer
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Brad Keselowski

Drydene 311 – Final recap:

Laps: 126 (186-311 / 311)

Kevin Harvick controls the final stage segment with a confortable lead over Joey Logano and Martin Truex Jr. with 25 laps remaining.

Corey Lajoie tags the fence displaying caution on Lap 288.  As teams dive into pit for final service, majority of contenting teams received four tires. Battling for playoff points, Jimmie Johnson rolls the dice with a 2 tire stop and leads the field back to a final shootout.

Happy’s flawless car teamed up with fresh tires to secure an easy pass on the Champs’ Chevy.

Kevin Harvick collects his 7 win of the season sweeping all three stages at the Monster Mile.  Martin Truex Jr. finishes second and Jimmie Johnson holds off teammate William Byron for sandbox honors.

Drydene 311Race Results

1. Kevin Harvick
2. Martin Truex Jr
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. William Byron
5. Alex Bowman
6. Joey Logano
7. Aric Almirola
8. Brad Keselowski
9. Austin Dillon
10. Cole Custer
11. Kyle Busch
12. Ryan Blaney
13. Kurt Busch
14. Chris Buescher
15. Matt Kenseth
16. Clint Bowyer
17. Matt DiBenedetto
18. Tyler Reddick
19. Denny Hamlin
20. John Hunter Nemechek
21. Bubba Wallace
22. Erik Jones
23. Corey LaJoie
24. Ryan Newman
25. Michael McDowell
26. Ryan Preece
27. Christopher Bell
28. Daniel Suarez
29. Ty Dillon
30. Brennan Poole
31. BJ McLeod
32. Josh Bilicki
33. Reed Sorenson
34. Quin Houff
35. Garrett Smithley
36. Timmy Hill
37. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
38. JJ Yeley
39. Chase Elliott
40. Joey Gase

Kevin Harvick checks off his 56th NASCAR Cup Series career win, matching Kyle Bush. The victory also marked Ford’s 700th in Cup Series competition.

NASCAR Cup Series set sails to the World Center of Racing – Saturday August 29th for the Coke Zero Sugar 400  7:30 E.T.  NBC / SXM 90.   The final race of the regular season hosted by Daytona International Speedway will decide 2020 Playoff contenders.

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series