Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Harvick on Pole for NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas

Brendon D. Miller - BSN

 KANSAS CITY – July 22, 2020  (Source:

The starting lineup for Thursday’s Super Start Batteries 400 presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway (7:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN, NBC Sports App, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) has been set.

Kevin Harvick will start from the pole position, with Joey Logano joining him on the front row to lead the field to green for the 267-lap, 400-mile race. Harvick enters the race with three wins at the 1.5-mile track with two of those coming from starts in the pole position.

RELATED: Pit stall assignments for Thursday’s race | Kansas schedule

The lineup for the race was determined by a random draw, with NBC Sports announcing the results. The parameters for the draw were as follows:

  • Positions 1-12 determined by a random draw from charter teams in those positions in team owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random draw among charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random draw among charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 37-40: will be filled out by open, non-chartered teams in order of owner points

Here is a look at the full lineup:

Starting spotDriverCar #Team
1Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
2Joey Logano22Team Penske
3Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
4Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
5Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
6Alex Bowman88Hendrick Motorsports
7Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
8Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
9Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
10Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
11Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
12Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
13Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
14Matt Kenseth42Chip Ganassi Racing
15William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
16Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
17Bubba Wallace43Richard Petty Motorsports
18Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
19Clint Bowyer14Stewart-Haas Racing
20Jimmie Johnson48Hendrick Motorsports
21Erik Jones20Joe Gibbs Racing
22Christopher Bell95Leavine Family Racing
23Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
24Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
25Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
26Garrett Smithley77Spire Motorsports
27Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
28JJ Yeley27Rick Ware Racing
29Brennan Poole15Premium Motorsports
30John Hunter Nemechek38Front Row Motorsports
31Corey LaJoie32GoFas Racing
32Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
33Josh Bilicki53Rick Ware Racing
34Joey Gase51Petty Ware Racing
35Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
36Ty Dillon13Germain Racing
37Daniel Suarez96Gaunt Brothers Racing
38Timmy Hill66Motorsports Business Management
39Reed Sorenson7Tommy Baldwin Racing
40BJ McLeod78BJ McLeod Motorsports

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series