Connect with us


Keselowski Tops at Martinsville

Keselowski wins the STP 500 in a dominating performance leading 446 of 500 laps at Martinsville.

Martinsville, Va. – March 24, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook – Bluegrass Sports Nation

The Monster Cup Energy NASCAR Cup Series 6th race of the season stopped at Martinsville Speedway for the STP 500 on Sunday.

Known as “The Paperclip” for its elongated shape, the drivers are challenged by 500 laps on the shortest (0.526 miles) and oldest track (1948) still hosting a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race.  Starting first as a half-mile dirt track, Martinsville Speedway was paved with asphalt in the mid 1950’s and in mid-70’s gained concrete placement in the (12 degree) corners.  The 12 degree banking in the corners poses a challenge to brakes as the cars must slow dramatically to negotiate low banked, tight turns.

At a 97.830 mph Joey Logano driver of the No. 22 earned the Bush Pole Award and brought the field to green.  After leading the first 6 laps, Logano was passed by #2 Penske Ford Driver- Brad Keselowski and collected Stage 1 win.

STAGE 1 Results

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Aric Almirola
  4. Denny Hamblin
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Joey Logano
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Kyle Bush
  10. Austin Dilion

Brad Keselowski continued to prove his dominance by also checking off the circuits, cruising to a Stage 2 win.

Stage 2 Results

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Denny Hamblin
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Aric Almirola
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Daniel Suarez
  10. Joey Logano

On Lap 325 of the final Stage, Driver of the #9 Hendrick Chevy, the 2nd lead change of the race. Elliott continued to lead the field for 49 laps.  As Elliott’s Ford Mustang began to show signs of wear while maintaining the lead, Keselowski navigated his No. 12 Ford back to the front and kept the lead to the checkers, capturing the victory.

STP 500 Final Results

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Kyle Bush
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Denny Hamblin
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Daniel Suarez

The win is Keselowski 29th of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career, 2nd career victory at Martinsville Speedway and 2nd win of the 2019 season.

The Monster Cup Energy NASCAR Cup Series race #7 travels to the Texas Motor Speedway for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500. Sunday March 31, 2019 / 3:00 PM ET

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR