Connect with us


Lagano Takes Vegas

Joey Lagano - Brendon D. Miller - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Las Vegas, Nevada, March 3, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook, Bluegrass Sports Nation

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series’ 3rd race of the season traveled to the Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Sunday March 3rd, for the Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube.

Las Vegas native Kyle Bush Driver of the #18 Joe Gibbs Toyota will attempt the trifecta sweep at the Pennzoil 400, following a win Friday in the Truck series and a double-overtime win Saturday night in the Xfinity series.

Kevin Harvick Driver of the #4 Stuart-Hass Ford was awarded with the  pole position and will be one of the top drivers to contend with.  Additionally Harvick won the 2018 Spring event while Kyle Bush won the 2018 Fall Playoff race at LMS.

This race  will be the of the season in which Monster Energy Series will utilize both Aero Ducts (Transfer Air from Front Tires) and Tapered Spacers (Reduce Horsepower). The package will be implemented 17 0f 36 races for Tracks larger than 1 mile and expected to create closer / tighter racing.

Pole Sitter – Kevin Harvick collected to his 2nd stage win of the season while dominating Stage 1 of the Sunday’s Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube.

                                Stage 1 Results

      Pos.   Driver                      Owner                          Pts.

  1.      Kevin Harvick          Stewart-Haas Racing   10
  2.      Kyle Bush               Joe Gibbs Racing          9
  3.      Joey Logano           Team Penske                8
  4.      Denny Hamblin       Joe Gibbs Racing          7
  5.      Erik Jones               Joe Gibbs Racing          6
  6.      Rickey Stenhouse   Roush Fenway Racing  5
  7.      Martin Truex Jr.       Joe Gibbs Racing          4
  8.      Chase Elliott            Hendrick Motorsports    3
  9.      Daniel Suarez          Stewart-Haas Racing    2
  10.      Brad Keselowski     Team Penske                 1

Stage 2 of the Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube spotlighted the lead transferring from Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Bush and William ByronJoey Logano played his cards right, and collected Stage 2 win.

                                Stage 2 Results

      Pos.   Driver                      Owner                          Pts.

  1.    Joey Logano             Team Penske               10
  2.    Kevin Harvick            Stewart-Haas Racing     9
  3.    Martin Truex Jr.         Joe Gibbs Racing          8
  4.    Brad Keselowski        Team Penske                7
  5.    Denny Hamblin          Joe Gibbs Racing          6
  6.    Chase Elliott               Hendrick Motorsports    5
  7.    Aric Almirola               Stewart-Haas Racing    4
  8.    Ricky Stenhouse Jr.   RoushFenway Racing   3
  9.    Alex Bowman             Hendrick Motorsports    2
  10.   Jimmy Johnson          Hendrick Motorsports     1

The Pennzoil #22 Ford demonstrated that the Penske Owned Ford would be a factor for the final stage and race win. Logano held off a valor attempt from teammate #2 Penske Ford Brad Keselowski on the final lap for victory.

The win will be Joey Logano’s first Cup win at Las Vegas, his first of the season and 22nd of his Cup career.

                  Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube Results

               Driver                         Owner

  1.    Joey Logano                Team Penske                   Ford           
  2.   Brad Keselowski           Team Penske                   Ford           
  3.    Kyle Bush                    Joe Gibbs Racing             Toyota
  4.    Kevin Harvick              Stewart-Haas Racing        Ford 
  5.    Kurt Bush                    Chip – Ganassi                  Chevrolet
  6.    Ricky Stenhouse Jr.     Roush- Fenway Racing    Ford  
  7.     Aric Almirola               Stewart-Haas Racing        Ford
  8.     Martin Truex, Jr.         Stewart-Haas Racing        Toyota
  9.     Chase Elliott               Hendrick Motorsports        Chevrolet
  10.     Denny Hamblin          Joe Gibbs Racing              Toyota

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series “West Coast Sweep” continues to IMS Sunday March 10th 2019 3:30 p.m. for the TicketGuardian 500 on FOX Network.


Sponsored By

More in NASCAR