Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Larson Wins Third Straight in Music City

Kyle Larson wins third consecutive NASCAR point’s series race dominating 264 Laps of the inaugural Ally 400 at Nashville Superspeedway.

Nashville, Tenn.   – June 20, 2021 – ANTHONY HOLBROOK

The Ally 400  Cup Series 17th point’s race of the season celebrated Father’s Day in Music City for the inaugural Ally 400 Sunday, June 21 with a renovated venue. 

A 10 minute race delay allowed 38,000 spectators to safely occupy the grandstands before green flag flown.

The last NASCAR Cup Series race in the Nashville Vicinity checkered in 1984 at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway in which Hendrick Motorsports No. 5 Geoff Bodine took home the trophy.

Ally 400  Recap:

The Ally 400 went green when former NFL safety Bernard Pollard Jr. waved the flag as the honorary starter.

Domino incidents displayed early, starting on the first lap. Quin Houff tagged the barrier wall, bringing out the caution seconds after the race began.

The accidents continued throughout Stages 1 and 2 as multiple drivers spun or hit the wall under the common factor of brake failure.

Hendrick’s stables choosing conservative utilizing “short track” brakes while other drivers relied upon intermediate track brakes turned out to be a “game” changer.

Several drivers had brake issues on the scorching hot track. By staying out front and out of the congestion for most of the race, Larson avoided having significant caliper issues.

While Kyle Larson dominated, leading 264 of 300 laps, obstacles had to be avoided. Debris deposited on his front grill on Lap 246, which threatened his engine to overheat. Drafting (lap-down driver) J.J. Yeley helped dislodge debris from Larson’s grill.

Larson fought off held off charges by William Byron, Kyle Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Ross Chastain as 28-year-old driver from Elk Grove, California built up an insuperable advantage en route to 10th NASCAR Cup Series career victory.

Ally 400  Results :

1. Kyle Larson

2. Ross Chastain, -4.335 seconds

3. William Byron, -7.159 seconds

4. Aric Almirola, -8.591 seconds

5. Kevin Harvick, -9.106 seconds

6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., -10.416 seconds

7. Daniel Suarez, -14.119 seconds

8. Kurt Busch, -15.728 seconds

9. Christopher Bell, -16.541 seconds

10. Joey Logano, -21.281 seconds

11. Kyle Busch, -21.652 seconds

12. Austin Dillon, 23.350 seconds

13. Ryan Newman, -25.914 seconds

14. Alex Bowman, -26.316 seconds

15. Corey Lajoie, -29.995 seconds

16. Michael McDowell, -30.589 seconds

17. Anthony Alfredo, -31.057 seconds

18. Tyler Reddick, -31.700 seconds

19. Erik Jones, -32.102 seconds

20. Bubba Wallace, -1 lap down

21. Denny Hamlin, -1 lap down

22. Martin Truex Jr., -1 lap down

23. Brad Keselowski, -1 lap down

24. Matt DiBenedetto, -2 laps down

25. Garrett Smithley, -2 laps down

26. Josh Bilicki, -2 laps down

27. JJ Yeley, -2 laps down

28. BJ McLeod, -5 laps down

29. Joey Gase, -5 laps down

30. Cole Custer, -48 laps down

31. Chase Briscoe, -73 laps down (accident)

32. Ryan Preece, -103 laps down (brakes)

33. Chad Finchum, -143 laps down (rear end)

34. David Starr, -174 laps down (brakes)

35. Justin Haley, -221 laps down (accident)

36. Chris Buescher, -223 laps down (accident)

37. Ryan Blaney, -247 laps down (accident)

38. Quin Houff, -300 laps down (accident)

39. Chase Elliott, DQ’d for five missing lugnuts post-race

Italicized drivers did not finish.

NASCAR Cup Series races both Saturday and Sunday next weekend in a doubleheader at Pocono Raceway.

NASCAR Cup Series Race

Pocono -1

Saturday June 26, 2021

3:00 p.m. E.T.


Sirius XM/ NASCAR 90

NASCAR Cup Series Race

Explore the Pocono Mountains 350

Sunday June 27, 2021

3:00 p.m. E.T.


Sirius XM /NASCAR 90

Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin split the two races at Pocono Raceway last season.

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series