Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Logano Is Champ

Joey Logano - Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

32-year-old Joey Logano captures his second NASCAR Cup Series Championship in the Valley of the Sun

AVONDALE, AZ – November 6, 2022 – Anthony Holbrook

The 2022 NASCAR season concluded Sunday with the 2022 Nascar Championship Series Race Season Finale hosted by Phoenix Raceway.  Four contenders remained in the points race, with Joey Logano, Ross Chastain, Christopher Bell and Chase Elliott, making up the Championship 4 in quest to reign as the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series Champion. 

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Stage 1 recap:

Laps: 60 (1-60 / 312)

Joey Logano strikes first clearing Ryan Blaney in the opening dogleg, commanding the lead.

The 2018 NASCAR Cup Champ pilots the field through 30 laps leading (non-contender) Blaney by a mere 1.9 seconds. 

Joey Logano controls the first 60 laps, winning the final Stage 1 of the 2022 Nascar Cup Series Season.

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Stage 1 results:

1. Joey Logano

2. Ryan Blaney

3. Chase Briscoe

4. Kyle Larson

5. Martin Truex Jr

6. Chase Elliott

7. William Byron

8. Kevin Harvick

9. Tyler Reddick

10. Austin Cindric

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Stage 2 recap:

Laps: 125 (61-185 / 312)

Stage 2 Green flag finds Joey Logano in a familiar place as he clears Kyle Larson for the post.

Erik Jone’s race team gambles opting for 2 set of Goodyears after a Landon Cassel yellow flag on Lap 85.  Jones capitalizes winning the race out of pits and joins Cole Custer whom declined service for track position.

Joey Logano will track down the frontrunner’s clearing Custer and Jones to regain the lead by Turn 2.

Ryan Blaney dives underneath race leader Joey Logano on Lap 159 for the lead.

Ryan Blaney wards off approaching danger while collecting the final stage two of the 2022 Nascar Cup Season.

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Stage 2 recap:

1. Ryan Blaney

2. Joey Logano

3. Martin Truex Jr

4. Chase Briscoe

5. Kevin Harvick

6. Christopher Bell

7. William Byron

8. Kyle Larson

9. Tyler Reddick

10. Austin Cindric

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Final Stage recap:

Laps: 127 (186-312 / 312)

Ryan Blaney and Chase Briscoe compose the front row on the Final Stage green flag.

Ryan Blaney clears Chase Briscoe to earn the lead.

Jockeying for position on lap 194 restart, Ross Chastain and Chase Elliott throttled in Turn 1,  their Real-estate runs out  and  the two meet.  Chase Elliot would sustain damage and returns to pit for repair.  Chase Elliott chance to contend for this Championship will be an uphill battle.

Ryan Blaney re-cycles back on top of the leader board by Lap 255.  Christopher Bell and Joey Logano have their own battle for 4th and the Championship.  Joey Logano will keep Christopher Bell in check within his rear view mirror.

Returning to racing Alex Bowman is greeted with a chrome horn compliments of Michael McDowell on lap 267.  Alex sustains damage bringing out a welcomed caution flag for a final shoot out.

Ryan Blaney leads the field to the pit lane. Chase  Briscoe wins the race to the pit exit.

Lap 282 Joey Logano passes Chase Brisco uncontested for the lead and sets his cruise control to Championship mode.

10 laps remaining Joey Logano leads Ryan Blaney by a half second margin while monitoring contender Ross Chastain in 3rd who has very little time and real-estate to his advantage.

Joey Logano wins the 2022 Nascar Cup Series Championship.

Joey Logano win marks his 31st in 507 Cup career races in his 15th year of Nascar Cup Series Competition.

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Final Stage results:

Pos | Driver

1. Joey Logano
2. Ryan Blaney
3. Ross Chastain
4. Chase Briscoe
5. Kevin Harvick
6. William Byron
7. Kyle Busch
8. Denny Hamlin
9. Kyle Larson
10. Christopher Bell
11. Austin Cindric
12. AJ Allmendinger
13. Austin Dillon
14. Erik Jones
15. Martin Truex Jr
16. Cole Custer
17. Daniel Hemric
18. Corey LaJoie
19. Harrison Burton
20. Aric Almirola
21. Chris Buescher
22. Bubba Wallace
23. Tyler Reddick
24. Daniel Suarez
25. Michael McDowell
26. Ty Dillon
27. Justin Haley
28. Chase Elliott
29. Todd Gilliland
30. Cody Ware
31. BJ McLeod
32. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
33. Garrett Smithley
34. Alex Bowman
35. Brad Keselowski
36. Landon Cassill

2022 Nascar Championship Series Race

Final Ranking

Pos | Driver | Race Finish

1. Joey Logano

2. Ross Chastain

3. Christopher Bell

4. Chase Elliott
     28th West Coast

A Sad Note and Condolences to the family of Coy Gibbs, 49, Vice chairman of Joe Gibbs Racing died Sunday morning just hours after his son won the Xfinity Series championship Saturday at Avondale.

The 2023 Nascar Cup Series returns to the tradition-rich Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum for the 2nd annual season-opening Busch Light Clash at The Coliseum

Sunday,   February 05, 2023

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series