Connect with us

UK Football

Lynn Bowden Jr. Earns Second Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll

Lynn Bowden, Jr. - photo by Brendon D. Miller - Bluegrass Sports Nation

The Hornung Award recognizes the most versatile player in college football

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Kentucky junior athlete Lynn Bowden Jr. has been selected to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for the second time this season after leading Kentucky to a 24-20 win over Arkansas in his first collegiate start as a quarterback.

Bowden, the erstwhile wide receiver of Youngstown, Ohio, accounted for 274 yards total offense and all three touchdowns on Saturday. He connected on 7 of 11 passes for 78 yards and his first career scoring pass and also rushed a career-high 24 times for 196 yards and two touchdowns, including the game-winning 24-yard touchdown scamper in the fourth quarter.

His 196 rushing yards are the most for a Wildcat against a Southeastern Conference opponent in 14 years. It is the second-most rushing yards for a Kentucky quarterback in school history.

Bowden is UK’s leading receiver with 30 catches for 348 yards and one TD this season. He currently ranks 13th on UK’s career receptions list and is 18th on the career receiving yards list with 1,303 yards. Because he played quarterback the entire game, his 19-game streak of catching at least one pass was snapped.

Bowden currently leads the SEC and ranks sixth nationally in all-purpose yards, averaging 149.33 per game.

The 2019 Hornung Award is annually awarded to the most versatile player in college football. The winner will be announced on March 4, 2020 at the award’s annual dinner, to be held at the Galt House in Louisville, Kentucky. Nicknamed The Golden Boy, Hornung was a Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback at Notre Dame in 1956 and the NFL’s Most Valuable Player with the Green Bay Packers whose versatility earned him enshrinement in both the College and Pro Football Hall of Fames.

Fans can vote for Bowden for the Paul Hornung Award as often as once every 24 hours at

Sponsored By

More in UK Football