Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Michael McDowell Spreads the Love’s at Daytona

Michael McDowell - photo by Harold Hinson

Love’s Driver McDowell wins Daytona after long rain delay


Stock Car’s fiercest gladiators strapped in their chariots of horsepower to challenge the 2.5 Superspeedway at Daytona International Speedway in quest for the Harley J. Earl Trophy.  Many ambitious drivers have attempted, only a few succeed.   Wednesday’s pole qualifying set the front row for the Daytona 500 with Alex Bowman earning the nod whom occupies the famed and familiar No. 48 Chevrolet.

Stage 1 Recap: – 2021 Daytona 500
The results of Thursday’s Duels races won by Aric Almirola and Austin Dillon set the remainder of the field for the 63rd running of the Great American Race.

Aggression played a prominent factor as seen on Lap 13 as Christopher Bell tagged Aric Almirola igniting an early “Big One”. The 16-car pileup that knocked out a number of front line contenders including: Martin Truex Jr., Tyler Reddick, Ryan Newman, Jamie McMurray, William Byron, and Matt Dibenedetto were among those drivers involved in the wreck.

As anticipated, inclement weather rolled into Volusia County covering the track facilities forcing a red flag delay that lasted nearly six hours.

After the weather ceased, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Aric Almirola, Erik Jones, Daniel Suarez, David Ragan and 1990 Daytona 500 Winner Derrike Cope were all classified out of the race.

Add also Anthony Alfredo, Matt DiBenedetto, Chris Buescher and Quin Houff to the list whom additional were ruled out as the race, eliminating any chance to host the checkers.

Back to Back Daytona 500 winner – Denny Hamlin avoiding carnage found himself back upfront holding off a smaller field for the valuable Stage 1 Win.

Stage 1 Results: – 2021 Daytona 500

  1. Denny Hamlin
    2. Ryan Preece
    3. Austin Dillon
    4. Kyle Larson
    5. Austin Cindric
    6. Christopher Bell
    7. Bubba Wallace
    8. Joey Logano
    9. Ross Chastain
    10. Cole Custer

Stage 2 Recap: – 2021 Daytona 500

Stage 2 spotlighted NASCAR’s new team owners Michael Jordon and Denny Hamlin’s 23XI Racing team piloted by Bubba Wallace.  Contending for the Stage 2 win, Bubba Wallace would battle his 23XI team owner Denny Hamlin for the Stage win, only to be held off by the season veteran.

Stage 2 Results: – 2021 Daytona 500

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Bubba Wallace
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Austin Dillion
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Ryan Preece
  10. Austin Cindric

Final Stage – 2021 Daytona 500

Denny Hamlin dominance soon to extinguished as Joey Logano led a furry of drafters past Hamlin with 25 Laps remaining.  Joey Logano set his sights for the checkers only to be interrupted by Brad Keselowski’s bumper horn.  Unfortunately, the Penske teammates would tangle on the final lap, opening the door forMichael McDowell.  McDowell was the beneficiary of the mayhem and earning the prestigious Harley J. Earl Trophy and checking off his first NASCAR Cup Series victory of his career.

2021 Daytona 500 – Final Results

1.Michael McDowell
2.Chase Elliott
3.Austin Dillon
4.Kevin Harvick
5.Denny Hamlin
6.Ryan Preece
7.Ross Chastain
8.Jamie McMurray
9.Corey LaJoie
10.Kyle Larson
11.Cole Custer
12.Joey Logano
13.Brad Keselowski
14.Kyle Busch
15.Austin Cindric
16.Christopher Bell
17.Bubba Wallace
18.Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
19.Chase Briscoe
20.Joey Gase
21.Cody Ware
22.Kurt Busch
23.BJ McLeod
24.Josh Bilicki
25.Martin Truex Jr.
26.William Byron
27.Tyler Reddick
28.Kaz Grala
29.Quin Houff
30.Ryan Blaney
31.Chris Buescher
32.Anthony Alfredo
33.Matt DiBenedetto
34.Aric Almirola
35.Alex Bowman
36.Daniel Suarez                                                
37.David Ragan
38.Ryan Newman
39.Erik Jones
40.Derrike Cope

NASCAR Cup Series 2nd point’s race of the season remains at the World Center of Racing utilizing the Daytona International Speedway Road Course  –   Sun, Feb. 21, 3:00 p.m. E.T.,   Fox / Sirius NASCAR 90

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series