Connect with us


Rowdy is King at the Coliseum

Kyle Busch in Victory Lane - photo by Larry Robinson - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Kyle Bush wins the 59th Annual Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway as he overcame an early track accident.

Bristol Motor Speedway – April 7, 2019 – Anthony Holbrook – Bluegrass Sports Nation NASCAR Columnist

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series 8th race of the season motivated to the Bristol Motor Speedway for the Food City 500 today and the Busch Brothers ruled!

Bristol Motor Speedway, located in the North East Corner of Tennessee, measures .533 half-mile asphalt oval and is paved in concrete.  The Speedway has been a NASCAR venue since 1961.  In 2012, the top groove was grounded down to a maximum of 28 degrees.  When cars line up for the start, the cars often stretch nearly half-way around the short track.  As result, Bristol is known for its paint swapping and include numerous accidents and caution flags.

To win at Thunder Valley, each driver must have a game plan, unfortunately Kevin Harvick- Driver of the No. 4 Ford was penalized for not passing pre-entry car inspection (3 times).  This penalty placed the No. 4 Mustang back in the pack, forfeiting his 13th place qualifying position.  Harvick wasn’t too Happy as he additionally had to obey a pass-through penalty that placed his Mustang laps down early in the event.  This was definitely not a plan in the Stuart-Hass playbook.

Young Gun and NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver/Pole Sitter – Chase Elliott pilot of the No. 9 Hendrick Chevrolet, brought the field to green but not for long.  As emotions were running high on the high banks, real estate ran out early, as Ryan Blaney, Driver of the No. 12 Mustang clipped No. 10 -Aric Almirola’s Mustang sending him into the fence and starting a domino pile up behind the accident, bringing out Caution # 1 on lap 2.  Other cars collected in the carnage included No. 17 Stenhouse Jr. and No. 18 Kyle Bush.  Most cars effected were able to repair their respectful damage and return except No. 10-Almirolo who pulled his car to the trailer for loading.

While leading through lap 44 in Stage 1, Chase Elliott was collected by Ryan Preece-Driver of the No. 47 Chevrolet, as he tried to overdrive Turn 4 and spun out in front of the leader, bringing out Caution #2.  Cosmetic repair for the No. 9-Elliott Mustang as he dropped to position 6 on the restart.  Denny Hamlin, Driver of the No. 11 Gibbs Toyota, decided not to pit on the previous caution and resumed the lead.  The lead was not lasting as Eric Jones, driver of the No. 20 Toyota, took over the No. 11 Toyota lead with fresh Goodyears.

Lap 59 of Stage 1 displayed a battle between Blaney and Jones as Blaney posted his Ford to the front to set the pace in Stage 1.  Clint Bowyer, driver of the No. 14 Ford, and Ford Companion No. 22 Joey Logano interchanged the lead as Stage 1 advanced.

A final Stage 1 caution, involved No. 15, Ross Chastain’s Chevy, using his chrome horn dumping the No. 8, Daniel Hemric, bringing out a 2 lap shoot out for stage 1.  Driver of the No. 13 Chevrolet, Ty Dillon, strategically out dueled point leader, No. 14 Clint Bowyer, for Stage 1 Win.

       Stage 1 Results

  1. Ty Dillon
  2. Clint Bowyer
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Kyle Bush
  7. Ryan Blaney
  8. Matt DiBenedetto
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Chase Elliott

In stage 2, Logano was firmly in charge by checking off laps and any competitors in due site, to win Stage 2.

        Stage 2 Results

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Ryan Newman
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Kyle Bush
  6. Kurt Bush
  7. Chris Buescher
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Austion Dillon
  10. Daniel Suarez

Kyle Busch overcoming an early accident, patiently worked his car through lap traffic and taking his first lead on lap 354 over Bowyer.  A Battle between Busch and Bowyer showcased Stage 2, as Drivers traded paint and the point. Gibbs Toyota teammate, Hamblin clocked off an astonishing 2-tire pit service and awarded to the point over teammate Busch.  Busch resumed the lead as Hamlin was penalized for pit infractions and suffered to serve a pit penalty.  Busch then dialed in the Gibbs Toyota and didn’t look back as he collected win No. 3 of the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series and 54th victory in 506 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series starts.

This is Kyle Busch’s 8th Victory and 16th top-10 finish in 37 races at Bristol Motor Speedway. Also, it’s his 6th top 10 finish of the 2019 NASCAR Cup Season.

Kurt Busch, No. 1 Chevrolet (second), posted his 19th top 10 finish in 37 races at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Joey Logano (Third) posted his 10th top 10 finish in 21 races at BMS.

Ryan Preece (25th) was the highest finishing rookie.

Kyle Busch leads the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series point standings by 27 points over teammate Denny Hamlin.

On a sad note,  NASCAR Cup Champion Darrell Waltrip announced the end of a 19 year broadcasting career during the Bristol Race Weekend festivities. Waltrip will end his broadcast career at the end of this year’s Fox broadcast races.

       Food City 500 Final Results

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Paul Menard
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Daniel Suarez
  9. Ryan Newman
  10.  Jimmie Johnson
  11.  Chase Elliott
  12.  Matt DiBenedetto
  13.  Kevin Harvick
  14. Austin Dillon
  15.  Ty Dillon
  16.  William Byron
  17.  Martin Truex Jr.
  18.  Brad Keselowski
  19.  Kyle Larson
  20.  Bubba Wallace
  21.  David Ragan
  22.  Chris Buesher
  23.  Alex Bowman
  24.  Erik Jones
  25.  Ryan Preece
  26.  Landon Cassill
  27.  Matt Tifft
  28.  Michael McDowell
  29.  Ross Chastain
  30.  Daniel Hemric
  31.  Bayley Currey
  32.  Quin Houff
  33.  Rickey Stenhouse Jr.
  34.  Corey Lajoie
  35.  Timmy Hill
  36.  Gray Gaulding
  37.  Aric Almirola
  38.  Brad Keselowski

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Race N0. 9 travels to Richmond Raceway, Saturday, April 13th for the TOYOYA OWNERS 400 / 7:30 pm  FOX

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR