Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Ryan Blaney will contest for 1st Championship Title in Phoenix with Martinsville Speedway Victory!

Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Martinsville, Va. – October 29, 2023

The NASCAR Cup Series Road to the Championship 4 navigated to Martinsville Speedway for the Xfinity 500 and a final shot for eligible drivers to qualify for the Championship 4.   The participants for the Championship Finale would be set Sunday afternoon after the completion of the Xfinity 500.  Only four of the remaining eight contenders would advance past the weekend race in southern Virginia.  A victory at the Paperclip by any of the eligible playoff drivers automatically clinched a spot in the Championship 4, regardless of previous points accumulation.

Xfinity 500 – Recap:

Stage 1

Cup Champ Martin Truex Jr. paced the field to green as Ty Gibb’s shot gun position would be tested and overtook by the aggressor Denny Hamlin. Denny Hamlin narrowed Martin Truex Jr.’s separation within a bumper and sharpshot the low lane to snip Martin Truex Jr. lead by Lap 50.

Hamlin avoided any track alterations and collected Stage 1 valuable points with Victory at the paperclip.

Xfinity 500 – Results:

Stage 1

1. Denny Hamlin

2. Ryan Blaney

3. Martin Truex Jr

4. Chase Briscoe

5. Brad Keselowski

6. Christopher Bell

7. Ty Gibbs

8. Ryan Preece

9. Joey Logano

 10. Kevin Harvick

Xfinity 500 – Recap:

Stage 2 

Ryan Blaney along with race leader Denny Hamlin interchanged the front position during the early Stage 2 proceedings. Blaney advanced and seized the lead from Hamlin counting 60 laps remaining in Stage 2.

Final Stage pit service clocked Martin Truex Jr. speeding and penalized Truex Jr.

This penalty was a huge obstacle for Truex Jr.  to recover from, on a short track.

Denny Hamlin attempted to retaliate for the lead only to fall short as Ryan Blaney warded off any approaching danger.

Ryan Blaney checked off Stage 2 Checkers at Martinsville Speedway!

Xfinity 500 – Results:

Stage 2

1. Ryan Blaney

2. Denny Hamlin

3. Chase Briscoe

4. Joey Logano

5. Brad Keselowski

6. Ty Gibbs

7. Ryan Preece

8. Todd Gilliland

9. Kevin Harvick

10. Christopher Bell

Xfinity 500 – Recap:

Final Stage

Ryan Blaney continued to be the car to beat as competitors attempted to derail the leader in the Final Stage. A decisive Caution flag on Lap 323 was flown, courtesy of a Michael McDowell and Erik Jones’ track confrontation. Race frontrunners opted for final pit service.

Pit strategy separated the field as teams hustled for either gas only or a two-tire exchange.

Chase Elliott and Corey Lajoie wishing on a prayer, declined pit service and stayed out for track position. Aric Almirola’s two-tire pit strategy allowed him to challenge Chase Elliott for the lead on lap 450.

Twenty-five laps later, Elloitt’s two tire stability was encountered by Ryan Blaney on a mission. 

Blaney completed the pass for the lead and monitored competition within his rear-view mirror.

Ryan Blaney punched his Championship 4 ticket, displaying a dominant performance at Martinsville Speedway!

Xfinity 500 – Results:

Martinsville Speedway


Final Stage

Pos   |   Driver

1. Ryan Blaney

2. Aric Almirola

3. Denny Hamlin

4. Chase Briscoe

5. Joey Logano

6. Kyle Larson

7. Christopher Bell

8. Chris Buescher

9. Austin Cindric

10. Todd Gilliland

11. Bubba Wallace

12. Martin Truex Jr

13. William Byron

14. Ross Chastain

15. Harrison Burton

16. Kevin Harvick

17. Chase Elliott

18. Ty Gibbs

19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

20. Ryan Preece

21. Erik Jones

22. Corey LaJoie

23. Austin Dillon

24. Ty Dillon

25. Michael McDowell

26. Tyler Reddick

27. Kyle Busch

28. AJ Allmendinger

29. Ryan Newman

30. Justin Haley

31. Carson Hocevar

32. Alex Bowman

33. Brad Keselowski

34. Daniel Suarez

35. JJ Yeley

36. BJ McLeod

2023 NASCAR Cup Series Championship 4

1. Christopher Bell – 1 Win

2. Kyle Larson – 1 Win

3. Ryan Blaney – 1 Win

4. William Byron  + 8 pts.

— Eliminated from Championship Race —

5. Denny Hamlin  – 8 pts.

6. Martin Truex Jr  – 28 pts.

7. Tyler Reddick  – 43 pts.

8. Chris Buescher  – 58 pts.

The NASCAR Cup Series locates to Phoenix, Arizona for the NASCAR Cup Series Championship 4:

Sunday. Nov 6, 2022 


312 laps/ 312 Miles

3:00 PM ET

NBC  PRN    SiriusXM Nascar 90

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series