Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Stenhouse Captures the 500

Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. utilizes the Express Lane to win the 65th running of the Great American Race.

DAYTONA – February 19, 2023 – Anthony Holbrook

Stock Car’s fiercest gladiators strapped in their chariots of horsepower to challenge the 2.5 Superspeedway at Daytona International Speedway in quest for the Harley J. Earl Trophy.  Many ambitious drivers has attempted, only a few succeed.   Alex Bowman and Kyle Larson occupy the front row for 200 thrilling laps of stock car racing.

Inquisitive storylines this week were spotlighting retiring Cup and Daytona 500 Champion Kevin Harvick competing in his final Daytona 500 and returning NASCAR Cup Champion Jimmie Johnson to the field of competitors.  Other eyes focused upon reigning Truck Champion Zane Smith as he attempts first ever Cup-Xfinity-Craftsman Truck series trifecta, while IndyCar Series’ driver Conor Daly running in his maiden Great American Race.

Stage 1 Recap: – 2023 Daytona 500

Laps: 65 (1-65 / 200)

Green flag Stage :  Pole Sitter Alex Bowman and Kyle Larson battle side by side into turn one. Kyle Larson will maintain the preferred position only to be overtaken by Chris Bell with a friendly push from Bowman.

As Ford and Chevy’s circulate through green flag pit stops. Veteran Denny Hamlin would prevail as race leader.

Counting 11 laps remaining in Stage 1, Martin Truex Jr. guards the post of an advancing Hamlin only to be passed by Cup Champion Brad Keselowski with 1 circuit remaining in route collecting Stage 1 honors.

Stage 1 Results: – 2023 Daytona 500

1. Brad Keselowski

2. Ryan Preece

3. Chris Buescher

4. Kevin Harvick

5. Michael McDowell

6. Ty Gibbs;

7. Jimmie Johnson

8. Aric Almirola

9. Martin Truex Jr

10. Todd Gilliland

Stage 2 Recap: – 2023 Daytona 500

Laps: 65 (66-130 / 200)

Green Flag Stage 2: Brad Keselowski returns from pit to pace the field with aid from Aric Almirola’s chrome horn on lap 66.

6 laps from Stage 2 completion, 2022 Cup Champion Joey Logano advanced to the lead with a bump draft from Martin Truex Jr. The preceding lap found Ross Chastain jockeying for the post position.  Ross Chastain would muscle past Joey Logano to collect his first Stage win of the season.

Stage 2 Results: – 2023 Daytona 500

1. Ross Chastain

2. Alex Bowman

3. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

4. Joey Logano

5. Austin Cindric

6. Martin Truex Jr

7. William Byron

8. AJ Allmendinger

9. CHris Buescher

10. Christopher Bell

Final Stage Recap: – 2023 Daytona 500

Laps: 70 (131-200 / 200)

Green Flag Final Stage:  Bubba Wallace opts to stay out for track position as Ross Chastain leads the field to the pit lane.  Aric Almirola wins the race to the pit exit with gas only and joins Bubba Wallace to restart final Stage.

Aric Almirola’s fresher tires allow Aric the opportunity to overtake Wallace’s lead position.

Final green flag pit stops benefited Harrison Burton to inherit the lead after both Ford, Toyoto and Chevy camps return from pit cycle with 25, 24 and 22 laps to go, respectfully.

20 laps to go, M. Truex Jr, K. Harvick, M. McDowell, T. Gibbs, C. Briscoe, to name a few,  were   

collected by charging Ryan Preece as he lost control in front of oncoming traffic.

William Byron punts Joey Logano to the lead on the inside lane only to be shuffled back later in the pack as aggression builds.

4 laps remaining, Kyle Busch choses to the outside lane. Team-mate Austin Dillon bumps him to the lead.

3 to go, Daniel Suarez spins out of control to bring out a yellow flag inviting an Overtime finish.

Daytona 500 Overtime Recap:

Joey Logano takes advantage of an outside run off turn two to bolt to the lead.

“The Big One” followed as Austin Dillon received a bump from William Byron and they both slide into turn three, collecting carnage from R. Chastain, A. Cindric, J. Johnson, N. Gragson Z. Smith, D. Hamlin, H. Burton, J. Haley, B. Keselowski and T. Gilliland.

Overtime final restart permitted an opportunity for Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Kyle Larson to battle side by side into turn one for the lead.  Joey Logano bumps Ricky Stenhouse Jr. for the lead in turn three.

Travis Pastrana tags Kyle Larson sending Kyle Larson into the safer barrier outside wall. The final caution waved. 

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. wins the 2023 Daytona 500 at the World Center of Racing.

Daytona 500 Results

NASCAR Cup Series

February 19, 2023

Pos | Driver

1. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

2. Joey Logano

3. Christopher Bell

4. Chris Buescher

5. Alex Bowman

6. AJ Allmendinger

7. Daniel Suarez

8. Ryan Blaney

9. Ross Chastain

11. Travis Pastrana

12. Kevin Harvick

13. Zane Smith

14. Cody Ware

15. Corey Lajoie

16. Martin Truex Jr

17. Denny Hamlin

18. Kyle Larson

19. Kyle Busch

20. Bubba Wallace

21. Aric Almirola

22. Brad Keselowski

23. Austin Cindric

24. Noah Gragson

25. Ty Gibbs

26. Harrison Burton

27. Todd Gilliland

28. Michael McDowell

29. Conor Daly

30. BJ McLeod

31. Jimmie Johnson

32. Justin Haley

33. Austin Dillon

34. William Byron

35. Chase Briscoe

36. Ryan Preece

37. Erik Jones

38. Chase Elliott

39. Tyler Reddick

40. Ty Dillon

NASCAR Cup Series set to sail cross country for the Pala Casino 400 hosted by the Auto Club Speedway. 

Sunday, Feburary 26th 2023, 3:30 p.m. EST.  

FOX / SiriusXM NASCAR Radio 90  / MRN

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series