Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

The Candy Man Can

Kyle Busch - photo by Brendon Miller - Bluegrass Sports Nation

Enduring a 73-hour rain delay at the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500, 2019 NASCAR Cup Champion Kyle Busch earned his first win of the season by holding off Martin Truex Jr.

FORT WORTH, Texas – October 28, 2020 – ANTHONY HOLBROOK

The second race of NASCAR Series Playoff’s Round of 8 roars to the Texas Motor Speedway for the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 scheduled for Sunday with race completed Wednesday October 28, 2020.

Located in the Northeast corner of Texas in the city of Fort Worth, Texas Motor Speedway is very similar in layout to Charlotte Motor Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway in being a 1.5-mile quad-oval with 24-degree banking in the turns. Opening since 1996, Cup drivers battle 334 laps to earn the coveted Cowboy Hat and a pair of Six Shooters as champion of the event.

The Autotrader EchoPark Automotive at Texas began Sunday as scheduled. Unfortunately, with just 52 of 334 laps being completed, mist and drizzle forced the event to be red-flagged. Rain and mist subsequently ended attempts on Monday and Tuesday to continue the race. The stated race pushed forward until Wednesday afternoon, opening an available window for racing.

Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 Stage 1 recap:

Clint Bowyer was able to utilizing blockers to his advantage with three laps remaining to hold a charging Martin Truex Jr. to win Stage 1 honors.  Clint Bowyer will turn in his keys next season for a microphone.

Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 Stage 1 results:

  1. Clint Bowyer
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. William Byron
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Austin Dillon
  10. Matt DiBenedetto

Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 Stage 2 recap:

Kyle Busch owns Stage 2 followed by playoff contender teammate Martin Truex Jr. to the checkers. The third Stage win this year for the reigning Cup Series Champ.

Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 Stage 2 results:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Alex Bowman
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Christopher Bell
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  10. Kevin Harvick

Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500  Final Stage 1 recap:

Kyle Busch continued to pace the field relinquishing his lead for a final fuel-stop with 69 laps remaining.  A Kyle Busch’s sixteen-straight win season at stake, relied upon a fuel-mileage pit strategy call.

Clint Bowyer recaptures the lead and paces the field until his fuel issues sidelines Martin Truex Jr. for pit-service with 30 circuits to finish. 

Kyle Busch worked his way back to first with 24 laps left and watched pursuing Martin Truex Jr. and Christopher Bell car image shrunk in Kyle’s rear view mirror.

The trophy was Kyle Busch’s 57th career win and marked the 16th straight season in which he has won at least one race.

Christopher Bell who will be driving for Joe Gibbs Racing next year, finished third.

Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 Final Results:

1. Kyle Busch

2. Martin Truex Jr.

3. Christopher Bell

4. Ryan Blaney

5. Alex Bowman

6. Brad Keselowski

7. Kurt Busch

8. Matt DiBenedetto

9. Denny Hamlin

10. Joey Logano

11. Austin Dillon

12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

13. William Byron

14. Cole Custer 

15. Tyler Reddick

16. Kevin Harvick

17. Clint Bowyer

18. Ryan Preece

19. Ryan Newman

20. Chase Elliott

21. Erik Jones

22. John Hunter Nemechek

23. Aric Almirola 

24. Ty Dillon

25. Corey LaJoie

26. Michael McDowell

27. Daniel Suarez

28. Brennan Poole

29. Josh Bilicki

30. Timmy Hill

31. Garrett Smithley

32. Reed Sorenson

33. Quin Houff

34. Chris Buescher 

35. Chad Finchum

36. Jimmie Johnson

37. Joey Gase

38. Bubba Wallace

39. Matt Kenseth

40. JJ Yeley

Updated NASCAR Playoff Standings after Texas

  1. Joy Logano        ADV
  2. Kevin Harvick       +42
  3. Denny Hamlin      +27
  4. Brad Keselowski  +25


  • Alex Bowman       -25
  • Chase Elliott          -25
  • Martin Truex Jr.    -36
  • Kurt Busch               -81

The Round of 8 finale is the Xfinity 500, scheduled Sunday (2 p.m. ET, NBC/NBC Sports App, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) at the .526-mile Martinsville track. The 500-lapper will be the next-to-last race of the year.

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series