Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

William Byron wins the “Superbowl of Racing” at Daytona, USA

Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Daytona, USA – February 19, 2024 – Anthony Holbrook

Stock Car’s fiercest gladiators strapped into their chariots of horsepower to conquer Daytona International Speedway’s 2.5-mile Superspeedway in quest for the covenant Harley J. Earl Trophy.  Many ambitious drivers have attempted, only a few have succeeded.  

Past Wednesday’s qualifying winners, Joey Logano and Michael McDowell locked in the front row optimizing a single-lap run for the Great American Race.

Thursday’s Duel races were captured by Tyler Reddick and Christopher Bell, respectfully.

Inclement weather forced NASCAR to postpone Sunday’s scheduled NASCAR’s running of the Daytona 500 until Monday’s Presidents Day, 4:00 p.m. EST.

Stage 1 Recap: – 2024 Daytona 500

Pole Sitter Joey Logano and Michael McDowell battled side by side into turn one but Christopher Bell booted Logano to lead the season’s opening lap.

Race Teams attempted to settle down till a miscommunication between John Hunter Nemecheck and Brad Keselowski’s front bumper initiated the first caution on lap 6.

The collision eliminated and crippled many racer’s hopes for a prosperous finish. Harrison Burton, Carson Hocevar, Austin Dillon, Jimmie Johnson, Kraz Grala and Ryan Preece were victims of the aftermath in the tri-oval skirmish.

With twenty laps remaining Cup Champion Chase Elliott rotated to the lead with pit service upcoming.

Chase Elliott’s precise pit attention boosted NASCAR’s most popular driver to secure the final 10 laps of Stage 1.

Stage 1 Results: – 2024 Daytona 500

1. Chase Elliott

2. Kyle Larson

3. Ross Chastain

4. Alex Bowman

5. William Byron

6. Kyle Busch

7. Denny Hamlin

8. Bubba Wallace

9. Martin Truex Jr

10. Daniel Suarez

Stage 2 Recap: – 2024 Daytona 500

After manufacturers teamed up for pit service, Kyle Larson was rotated to the race lead with 15 laps remaining in Stage 2.

With 10 to go, Kyle Busch and Austin Cindric went door to door to the front to challenge and finally clear Kyle Larson’s lead.

With 1 to go, Ryan Blaney shoved Austin Cindric to the lead.  A lower lane opened up inviting Blaney to sharp-shoot under race leader Austin Cindric and collect Stage 2 honors.

Stage 2 Results: – 2024 Daytona 500

1. Ryan Blaney

2. Austin Cindric

3. Daniel Suarez

4. Kyle Busch

5. Tyler Reddick

6. William Byron

7. Bubba Wallace

8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

9. AJ Allmendinger

10. Chris Buescher

Final Stage Recap: – 2024 Daytona 500

With time running out the team’s intensity rose as they realized their opportunities to win were dwindling.

Austion Cendrick and Bubba Wallace tangled while pursuing the lead to open the final Stage.  Season Veteran AJ Allmendinger took this opportunity to tag up with Martin Truex Jr. for further drafting advancement.  Allmendinger led the field as competitors planned their challenge with 60 laps remaining.

Pit Stops with less than 25 laps remaining circulated Ross Chastain to the front as Pole Sitter’ Joey Logano hounded his back bumper. 

Ross Chastain attempted a block on an approaching Brad Keselowski while maintaining the lead on Lap 190. Brad Keselowski drove deep into the inside lane only to be turned in front of the approaching field!  Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney, Daniel Suarez, Martin Truex Jr, and Denny Hamlin are notable drivers involved in the collision.

Ross Chastain in desperation, attempted to regain the lead only to be intercepted by a block from William Byron.  Ross Chastain was tagged by William Byron in the rear quarter panel spinning Ross Chastain out of control.  William Byron cruised to checkers winning the 2024 Daytona 500 under the Caution Flag.

Daytona 500 Results

NASCAR Cup Series

February 19, 2024

Pos | Driver

1. William Byron

2. Alex Bowman

3. Christopher Bell

4. Corey LaJoie

5. AJ Allmendinger

6. Bubba Wallace

7. John Hunter Nemechek

8. Chase Briscoe

9. Erik Jones

10. Noah Gragson

11. Kyle Larson

12. Kyle Busch

13. Zane Smith

14. Chase Elliott

15. Martin Truex Jr

16. Daniel Suarez

17. Ty Gibbs

18. Chris Buescher

19. Denny Hamlin

20. David Ragan

21. Ross Chastain

22. Austin Cindric

23. Ryan Preece

24. Riley Herbst

25. Josh Berry

26. Justin Haley

27. Anthony Alfredo

28. Jimmie Johnson

29. Tyler Reddick

30. Ryan Blaney

31. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

32. Joey Logano

33. Brad Keselowski

34. Daniel Suarez

36. Michael McDowell

37. Austin Dillon

38. Kaz Grala

39. Harrison Burton

40. Carson Hocevar

NASCAR Cup Series 2nd point’s race will shift to Hotlanta for the Ambetter Health 400 hosted by the Atlanta Motor Speedway

Sunday, February 25th, 2024

3:00 p.m. EST.  

FOX / SiriusXM NASCAR Radio 90 / MRN

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series