Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Elliott Big at Dega

Chase Elliott outdueled Ryan Blaney on the final lap to collect his fifth victory of the 2022 NASCAR Cup Season.

TALLEDEGA – October 2, 2022 – Anthony Holbrook

The NASCAR Cup Series round of 12 playoff race invaded Talladega 2.66 mile Superspeedway for the YELLAWOODS 500.  Christopher Bell and Kyle Larson set the front row for 188 laps of stock car racing in central Alabama.

YELLAWOODS 500 – Stage 1 recap:

1 to go in stage one,  Denny Hamlin applied a huge block on  Chase Elliott.  Ryan Blaney had a huge run off the outside of turn four to challenge Denny Hamlin, and win Stage 1!

YELLAWOODS 500 – Stage 1 Results

1. Ryan Blaney; 2. Denny Hamlin; 3. Chase Elliott; 4. Austin Cindric; 5. Joey Logano; 6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr; 7. Kyle Busch; 8. Kyle Larson; 9. Noah Gragson; 10. Erik Jones

YELLAWOODS 500 – Stage 2 recap:

On Lap 104, Tyler Reddick cycled to the race lead and set sights for checkers.

8 to go in Stage 2, Kyle Larson led the field on the inside lane, and pull even with Tyler Reddick.

2 laps remaining, Chase Elliott bumped Kyle Larson to the lead.

With only one circuit to go, Tyler Reddick fought back for the lead on the outside of turn one, and got squirrely and forfeited his spot. 

This opens the door for Chase Elliott to slip out of line and contest Kyle Larson for valuable Stage 2 points.

Chase Elliott wins Stage 2!

YELLAWOODS 500 – Stage 2 Results

1. Chase Elliott; 2. Justin Haley; 3. Kyle Larson; 4. Daniel Suarez; 5. Erik Jones; 6. Ross Chastain; 7. Landon Cassill; 8. Chris Buescher; 9. Daniel Hemric; 10. Chase Briscoe

YELLAWOODS 500Race recap:

Ryan Blaney found himself fighting near the front of the pack for a majority of the final section of the 500-mile event and his No. 12 Penske Ford is pronounced to be the car to contend with.

As 26 laps remain, the final scheduled green flag pit cycle is complete.  Ryan Blaney recycled back to the lead with Keselowski on his bumper. Unfortunately, NASCAR Officials served a Pass-Through penalty for speeding, as veterans Brad Keselowski and Kevin Harvick paid their fine.

18 to go, Michael McDowell drafted Erik Jones to run with the lead pack in turn three.  Ryan Blaney regained the lead and throws a huge block on an approaching Ross Chastain to remain at the post.

With seven to go, Daniel Hemric stalled his car at the edge of the pit lane to invite Nascar’s yellow flag.

A bump from Michael McDowell allowed Ryan Blaney to excel past Erik Jones for the lead following the (Hemric’s) caution’s final restart.

On the last lap, it appeared as though Chase Elliott was descending in the wrong direction, but help from Erik Jones’ Bump draft maneuver was just enough momentum to bolt the 2019 Cup Champ past friend Ryan Blaney on the back stretch.

Chase Elliott threw blocks in five lanes through the tri-oval protecting his real-estate.

Chase Elliott Talladega Victory punches his ticket into the Round of 8 of the playoffs regardless of his performance at the Charlotte Roval next weekend.

YELLAWOODS 500  –  Final Stage Results:

Pos. –  Driver

1. Chase Elliott
2. Ryan Blaney
3. Michael McDowell
4. Ross Chastain
5. Denny Hamlin
6. Erik Jones
7. Todd Gilliland
8. Daniel Suarez
9. Austin Cindric
10. Chase Briscoe
11. Landon Cassill
12. William Byron
13. Austin Dillon
14. Aric Almirola
15. Justin Haley
16. Bubba Wallace
17. Christopher Bell
18. Kyle Larson
19. Noah Gragson
20. Kyle Busch
21. Cole Custer
22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
23. Ty Dillon
24. Brad Keselowski
25. Chris Buescher
26. Martin Truex Jr
27. Joey Logano
28. Tyler Reddick
29. Kevin Harvick
30. Justin Allgaier
31. JJ Yeley
32. Cody Ware
33. BJ McLeod
34. Daniel Hemric
35. Corey LaJoie
36. Harrison Burton
37. Ty Gibbs

NASCAR Cup Playoff Drivers Points (After Talladega)

1. Chase Elliott
1 Win
2. Ryan Blaney
3. Ross Chastain
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Joey Logano
6. Kyle Larson
7. Daniel Suarez
8. Chase Briscoe

— Round of 8 Cutline —

9. Austin Cindric

10. William Byron

11. Christopher Bell

The NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs returns Sunday to the Charlotte Motor Speedway for the final road-course event of the season.

The Roval the Bank of America ROVAL 400

(2 p.m. ET, NBC, NBC Sports App, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

Kyle Larson is the defending “the Bank of America ROVAL 400” event winner.

Ryan Blaney won the inaugural race and Chase Elliott is a two-time winner there as well (2019 and 2020) at the Charlotte Roval.

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series