Connect with us


Joey Cashes in Sin City

Joey Logano celebrates in Victory Lane - photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images via NASCAR Media

Joey Logano Clinches Playoff Championship Birth with Win

LAS VEGAS – October 17, 2022 – Anthony Holbrook

The NASCAR Cup Series Playoff opening race in the Round of Eight rolls to Sin City for the South Point 400 hosted by Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  Located less than 20 miles from Famous Las Vegas Strip, the 1.5 mile Tri-Oval Speedway hosted their first NASCAR Cup event on March 1, 1998.  The South Point 400 offers a scheduled 267 Laps (400 Miles) of excitement for the competitors vying for victory. Tyler Reddick and Austin Cindric set the front row at Vegas.

South Point 400 – Stage 1 recap:

(Lap 1-80)

Lap 43, the first green flag pit cycle is complete. Daniel Suarez cycles to the lead as he pitted four laps earlier than most of the leaders, Bubba Wallace runs 2nd.

Bubba Wallace locates the bumper of race leader/playoff contender Daniel Suarez on lap 57 of 80. Bubba Wallace sharp shoots to the inside to advances to the race lead.

Bubba Wallace collects Stage 1 chips under a Kyle Bush caution flag in closing laps of Stage 1 .

South Point 400 – Stage 1 Results

1. Bubba Wallace

2. Joey Logano

3. Daniel Suarez

4. Christopher Bell

5. Ryan Blaney

6. Austin Cindric

7. Kyle Larson

8. Martin Truex Jr

9. Tyler Reddick

10. William Byron

South Point 400 – Stage 2 recap:

(Lap 81-160)

Green flag / Restart Stage 2: Bubba Wallace and Daniel Suarez run side by side into Turn 1 for position. Teammate Ross Chastain ‘Bumper Bolts’ Daniel Suarez to the front in Turn 2 and sits  singular on top of leader board for now.

Kyle Larson goes “All In” on lap 95, as Larson side drafts Wallace off Turn 4.  Bubba Wallace bounces off the wall, turns hard left and collects the 2021 Cup Champ rocketing Larson into the safer barrier wall.

The Caution is out and Bubba is Hot as displayed with confrontation with Kyle Larson minutes later.

Thereafter, Ryan Blaney’s dog has caught the bumper of Ross Chastain and ready to fight.

Race leader Ross Chastain guards the track’s top lane of the track as Ryan Blaney accelerates to the inside into Turn 1, setting sites for a Stage 2 checkers at LVMS.

Ryan Blaney checks off a Stage 2 victory at Vegas.

South Point 400 – Stage 2 Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Alex Bowman
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Matt DiBenedetto
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. William Byron

South Point 400Race recap:

(Lap 161-267)

Ross Chastain paces Aric Almirola by 1 second as 50 circuits remain to decide who will cash in at Vegas.

28 to go, Tyler Reddick slides Daniel Suarez for 3rd position into Turn 3.

Both battle for real-estate off the corner. Daniel Suarez eventually spins and brings out a decisive Caution Flag.

Meanwhile, Kyle Busch charges through the field and up to 4th after losing a tire after pit service.

Second place Joey Logano is very aware that his Goodyear tires are 13 laps fresher than race leader  Ross Chastain.

In defense, Ross Chastain blocks multiply advances from Joey Logano.  Eventually the fresher Goodyears prevail as Logano sides past Chastain,  claiming the lead with 3 Circuits remaining.

Joey Logano advances to the Championship 4 with Victory at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

South Point 400Final Stage – Results

Pos | Driver

1. Joey Logano
2. Ross Chastain
3. Kyle Busch
4. Chase Briscoe
5. Denny Hamlin
6. Tyler Reddick
7. Martin Truex Jr
8. Erik Jones
9. AJ Allmendinger
10. Austin Dillon
11. Noah Gragson
12. Kevin Harvick
13. William Byron
14. Justin Haley
15. Chris Buescher
16. Daniel Suarez
17. Brad Keselowski
18. Aric Almirola
19. Michael McDowell
20. Cole Custer
21. Chase Elliott
22. Ty Gibbs
23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
24. Corey LaJoie
25. Todd Gilliland
26. Harrison Burton
27. Cody Ware
28. Ryan Blaney
29. Austin Cindric
30. BJ McLeod
31. JJ Yeley
32. Landon Cassill
33. Ty Dillon
34. Christopher Bell
35. Kyle Larson
36. Bubba Wallace

NASCAR Cup Series

Points Standings

(after South Point 400)

Pos | Driver | Wins | Points

1. Joey Logano
     1 Win (In Round)

2. Ross Chastain

3. Chase Elliott

4. Denny Hamlin

— Championship Cutline —

5. William Byron

6. Chase Briscoe

7. Ryan Blaney

8. Christopher Bell

The NASCAR Cup Series returns on Sunday, Oct 23, 2022 for the Dixie Vodka 400 hosted by Homestead-Miami Superspeedway with Green Flag scheduled:  2p.m. on NBC / SiriusXM 90 NASCAR Radio

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR