Connect with us

High School Football

KHSAA Football Alignment for 2025-26

LEXINGTON – May 9, 2024

The KHSAA Board of Control conducted its final regularly scheduled meeting of the 2023-24 academic year on Wednesday in Lexington, adopting a football alignment effective for the 2025 and 2026 playing seasons. A draft was approved at last February’s regularly scheduled meeting with an allowance for six weeks of feedback from the membership that was shared and publicly available.

The Board reviewed each of the concerns and suggestions brought forth by member schools and approved the following logistically and geographically verifiable moves:

  • Breckinridge County to move from District 2 to District 3 in Class 4A;
  • Taylor County to move from District 7 to District 2 in Class 4A;
  • Grant County to move from District 5 to District 4 in Class 4A;
  • Bardstown to move from District 3 to District 4 in Class 3A; and
  • LaRue County to move from District 4 to District 2 in Class 3A.

Additionally, requests by both Jenkins and Phelps to withdraw from postseason play (and required district play) in 2025 and 2026 were accepted.

“The process of getting an alignment approved is a challenge each time, especially in these times when school enrollments are changing each year with different education initiatives and options,” said KHSAA Commissioner Julian Tackett. “At the end of the day, the membership had significantly greater time and opportunity for feedback than the past alignment, all of which was fully disclosed to the public and the membership throughout the process. A few requests for logistically geographically supported moves were adopted, but there were also requests denied as each request was considered independently.”

Here’s the complete alignment:

Class A

District One – Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville

District Two – Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Kentucky Country Day, Louisville Holy Cross

District Three – Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic

District Four – Bishop Brossart, Covington Holy Cross, Ludlow, Trimble County

District Five – Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre

District Six – Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland

District Seven – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg

District Eight – Hazard, Jenkins, Paintsville, Phelps, Pikeville

Class 2A

District One – Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Fort Campbell, Mayfield, Todd County Central, Trigg County

District Two – Fort Knox, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic

District Three – Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County, Somerset

District Four – Danville, DuBois, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County

District Five – Beechwood, Bracken County, Gallatin County, Owen County, St. Henry, Walton-Verona

District Six – Breathitt County, Jackson County, Morgan County, West Carter

District Seven – Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Leslie County, Martin County, Prestonsburg

District Eight – Belfry, Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley

Class 3A

District One – Hopkins County Central, Murray, Union County, Webster County

District Two – Adair County, Butler County, Edmonson County, Glasgow, Hart County, LaRue County

District Three – Central, Christian Academy, DeSales, Thomas Nelson, Western

District Four – Bardstown, Casey County, Garrard County, Lexington Catholic, Mercer County

District Five – Bourbon County, Carroll County, Henry County, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County

District Six – Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell

District Seven – Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County

District Eight – Estill County, Lawrence County, Letcher County Central, Magoffin County, Powell County

Class 4A

District One – Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Franklin-Simpson, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East

District Two – Elizabethtown, John Hardin, Marion County, Nelson County, Taylor County

District Three – Breckinridge County, Doss, North Oldham, Valley, Waggener

District Four – Franklin County, Grant County, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills

District Five – Covington Catholic, Harrison County, Highlands, Holmes, Mason County

District Six – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

District Seven – Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Wayne County

District Eight – Corbin, Harlan County, Perry County Central, Whitley County

Class 5A

District One – Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro

District Two – Barren County, Bowling Green, Grayson County, Greenwood, Ohio County, Warren Central

District Three – Atherton, Butler, Iroquois, Seneca

District Four – Bullitt Central, Fairdale, Jeffersontown, Moore, North Bullitt

District Five – Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Scott

District Six – Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County

District Seven – East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine

District Eight – North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern

Class 6A

District One – Christian County, Henderson County, Hopkinsville, McCracken County

District Two – Central Hardin, Daviess County, Meade County, South Warren

District Three – Manual, North Hardin, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

District Four – Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern

District Five – Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity

District Six – Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton

District Seven – Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Dunbar, Tates Creek

District Eight – Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central

Sponsored By

More in High School Football