Connect with us

NASCAR Cup Series

Kurt Busch Cashes In in Vegas

Kurt Busch -

Playoff Contender Kurt Busch gambles on a long tire run to outduel Matt Dibenedetto on an overtime final – lap dash to collect the chips at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

LAS VEGAS – September 27, 2020 – ANTHONY HOLBROOK

The NASCAR Cup Series playoffs 4rd race rolled to Sin City for the South Point 400 hosted by Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Located less than 20 miles from Famous Las Vegas Strip, the 1.5 mile Tri-Oval Speedway hosted their first NASCAR Cup event on March 1, 1998.  The South Point 400 offered a scheduled 267 Laps (400 Miles) of excitement for the competitors vying for victory.

South Point 400 – Stage 1 recap:

(Lap 1-80)

Chase Elliott had the field in check in the opening portion of Stage 1 only to be passed by Kyle Busch on pit road. Kyle Busch relinquished the lead to Denny Hamlin on initial restart. Denny Hamlin secured the lead all the way to win Stage 1.

South Point 400 – Stage 1 Results

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Austin Dillion
  7. Ryan Blaney
  8. Alex Bowman
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Clint Bowyer

South Point 400 – Stage 2 recap:

(Lap 81-160)

Green flag restart was captured by Joey Logano only to be contested by Kyle Busch.

Results in confrontation will be attended by pit crews as Logano and Busch fall back multiple laps for car repair.  Denny Hamlin took advantage and controlled the field.

Chase Elliott patiently drove to the front holding off a late charge from Denny Hamlin to win his eighth stage win of the season.

South Point 400 – Stage 2 Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Alex Bowman
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Matt DiBenedetto
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. William Byron

South Point 400Race recap:

(Lap 161-267)

Running better than he finished, Playoff Contender Austin Dillion fighting steering issues, fell off the lead lap in the final Stage postponing his playoff advancement until Talladega.

A late John Hunter Nemechek caution allows Kurt Bush to reach in his tool box of tricks to revenge a track that bit him 21 consecutive attempts.   Being the only playoff contender on the lead lap when the caution came out, Kurt takes advantage controlling the restart with a fiery Matt DiBenedetto chasing.

 Kurt Busch’s longer pit sequence strategy allowed him an opportunity to run up front with less tread on tires at the end of the Stage

Seven laps to go brought out a decisive William Byron caution setting up a two lap dash for the checkers.

Cup Champion Kurt Busch’s experience paid dividends as Bush keyed upon Matt DiBenedetto’s weakness on the final restart to capture his first win at his hometown track.

Denny Hamlin dominated the race leading 121 of the 268 laps until the cautions jumbled the finish but rallied to finish third.

Kurt Busch entered the race 12th in Playoff Contenders standings and in danger of elimination from title contention, but the victory earned him an automatic berth into the next round of 8.

South Point 400Finishing Order:

1. Kurt Busch

2. Matt DiBenedetto

3. Denny Hamlin

4. Martin Truex Jr.

5. Alex Bowman

6. Kyle Busch

7. Ryan Blaney

8. Erik Jones

9. Chris Buescher

10. Kevin Harvick

11. Jimmie Johnson

12. Clint Bowyer

13. Brad Keselowski

14. Joey Logano

15. Ryan Newman

16. Cole Custer

17. Aric Almirola

18. Matt Kenseth

19. Ryan Preece

20. John Hunter Nemechek

21. Michael McDowell

22. Chase Elliott

23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

24. Christopher Bell

25. William Byron

26. Ty Dillon

27. Corey LaJoie

28. Bubba Wallace

29. Daniel Suarez

30. Brennan Poole

31. Gray Gaulding

32. Austin Dillon

33. JJ Yeley

34. Quin Houff

35. Joey Gase

36. Josh Bilicki

37. Timmy Hill

38. Tyler Reddick

39. Chad Finchum

Kurt Busch entered the race 12th in Playoff Contenders standings and in danger of elimination from title contention, but the victory earned him an automatic berth into the next round of 8.

NASCAR Cup Playoff Drivers Points  (After Vegas)

1. Kurt Busch (Vegas Win /Playoff Bid Advancement)

2. Kevin Harvick, 3,104 points

3. Denny Hamlin, 3,101

4. Brad Keselowski, 3,059

5. Martin Truex Jr., 3,058

6. Joey Logano, 3,054

7. Chase Elliott, 3,053

8. Alex Bowman, 3,052

9. Kyle Busch, 3,043

10. Clint Bowyer, 3,032

11. Aric Almirola, 3,025

12. Austin Dillon, 3,020

The Round of 12 continues next weekend at Talladega Superspeedway and will be finished off at the Charlotte Motor Speedway Roval in two weeks.

The NASCAR Cup Series returns on October 4th for the YellaWood 500 hosted by Talladega Superspeedway at 2 p.m. on NBC / SiriusXM 90 NASCAR Radio

Sponsored By

More in NASCAR Cup Series