Connect with us


UK Hoops – Media Tabs South Carolina as 2018 SEC Women’s Basketball Champion

Birmingham, Ala. – South Carolina was predicted to win the 2018 Southeastern Conference women’s basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Gamecocks enter the 2017-18 campaign as the reigning national champion and the four-time reigning SEC regular-season champions. The Gamecocks return two starters in A’ja Wilson and Tyasha Harris among their six letterwinners.

South Carolina tops the order of finish, with Mississippi State, Missouri, Tennessee, Texas A&M, Kentucky and LSU rounding out the top half the league. Georgia, Alabama, Auburn, Vanderbilt, Florida, Ole Miss and Arkansas round out the bottom half.

South Carolina’s A’ja Wilson was the overwhelming choice for SEC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year. Missouri’s Sophie Cunningham also received votes.

Joining Wilson and Cunningham on the All-SEC team are Mississippi State duo Morgan William and Victoria Vivians and Tennessee’s Mercedes Russell.

Order of Finish

  1. South Carolina      
  2. Mississippi State  
  3. Missouri              
  4. Tennessee           
  5. Texas A&M          
  6. Kentucky             
  7. LSU     
  8. Georgia
  9. Alabama              
  10. Auburn
  11. Vanderbilt
  12. Florida
  13. Ole Miss
  14. Arkansas


Player of the Year

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina


Preseason All-SEC

Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State

Morgan William, Mississippi State

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Mercedes Russell, Tennessee

Sponsored By

More in Basketball